Search My Blog

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

The Magic Warble by Victoria Simcox Guest Post and Giveaway

Welcome! Today I have a special guest on my blog today, the author of The Magic Warble, Victoria Simcox. I am spotlighting her first book in her independent reader series and the author has generously offered to giveaway 3 e-book copies of the book. I hope you all get excited about this book, I look forward to reading it when I have time. I have won this book and the next one in giveaways and was very excited.  I have heard great things about this book, especially from Michele's daughter, Katertot from A Belle's Tales. With her permission I'm going to also share her review with you all in this post. I hope you enjoy the spotlight and Q&A with the author. Here is a huge welcome to Victoria! Thank you for being on my blog today.

The Magic Warble by Victoria Simcox

Twelve-year-old Kristina Kingsly feels like the most unpopular girl in her school. The kids all tease her, and she never seems to fit in. But when Kristina receives an unusual Christmas gift, she suddenly finds herself magically transported to the land of Bernovem, home of dwarfs, gnomes, fairies, talking animals and the evil Queen Sentiz. In Bernovem, Kristina not only fits in, she's honored as "the chosen one," the only one who can release the land from Queen Sentiz's control. But it's not as simple as it seems. To save Bernovem, she must place the gift she was given, the famous "Magic Warble," in its final resting place. She must travel through the deep forest, climb a treacherous mountain, and risk capture by the queen's "zelbocks" before she reaches her destination. Guided by her new fairy friends, Clover and Looper and by Prince Werrien, a teenage boy, and an assortment of other characters, Kristina sets off on a perilous journey that not only tests her strength but her heart. (Goodreads)


Kristina Kingsly, a twelve-year-old girl who receives a mysterious gift from her teacher before Christmas break, is awoken one night by a buzzing noise coming from somewhere in her bedroom. The gift she was given by her teacher, Miss Hensley, came in some sort of hatbox, and she had carelessly tossed it under her bed the day before when she couldn’t open it. But now, as the buzzing seems to be growing louder… and seems to be coming from underneath her bed… Kristina pulls out the box and opens it, only to find a tiny, silvery, tarnished ball. What kind of gift is that? Just as she is about to go back to sleep, she suddenly finds herself in a different place! Not like one of those times when you close your eyes and feel like you’re somewhere else… she literally appeared in a beautiful garden in a pile of leaves. Afterwards, she learns she is the “Chosen One,” brought to this land, Bernovem, to place the little tarnished ball… or the Magic Warble… in its resting place. 

Currently, Bernovem is ruled by the tyrant Queen Sentiz. She knows Kristina is attempting to place the Magic Warble in its resting place and is bound and determined to kill Kristina and Werrien (the boy who is helping Kristina on her mission), take the Magic Warble, and destroy it, also destroying the only chance Bernovem has of being saved. 

While this book was very exciting and kept me on the edge of my seat, it also really touched my heart, especially when dealing with certain matters near the end; however, I can’t say any more without giving away too much. I’ll be honest, I cried near the end, and I agree with my mom - she says, “You know you’ve read a great book when it brings out that kind of emotion in you.”

This book is absolutely wonderful - 5 stars! Victoria Simcox is incredibly talented. I enjoyed her writing thoroughly and adored all the characters! Fairies, gnomes, dwarfs, AND talking animals? I’m hooked! The cover also intrigued me… what a beautiful book! A spectacular read by a spectacular author, The Magic Warble is a new favorite of mine! I will most definitely be reading the sequel, The Black Shard, as soon as possible! 

Thank you Katertot for allowing me to use your review in my post!

Guest Post/ Q&A:

Q: What gave you the idea for a fantasy book like The Magic Warble and The Black Shard?

A: I remember I was sitting in the movie theater watching the first Harry Potter movie when I envisioned my main character, Kristina, walking down a snowy sidewalk. At the time that was all of story I had. I went home that night and wrote my first page not knowing where the story would go.


Q: If/When you have writers block what do you do?

A: I used to get writer's block, but then I realized it came to me when I got too stressed out and felt like I was pressured to write. I had to remind myself why I started writing to begin with—because I enjoyed it, not because I had to; then I relaxed. If you are an aspiring author and going through writer's block and feeling like there's nothing you can come up with to write about, or your imagination has run dry, then take a day off—go see a flick, or do something you enjoy to relax. You'll be surprised how ideas come to you when you're in a happy relaxed state of mind.

Q: Are some characters harder to write than others?

A: No, I have a vivid picture of my characters in my head which makes it not to difficult for me to form their personalities. I think I draw a lot from people in my life. But I create a character from different character traits of more than 1 person.

Q: If you could meet any person dead or alive...who would it be?

A: C.S Lewis: His Chronicles of Narnia have been such an inspiration to me. It would be so cool, say for instance, to have lunch with him and pick his brain on how he came up with his beloved stories.

Q: What do you prefer coffee, tea, soda, water...

A: I prefer coffee to tea and I admit I'm pretty religious about having my coffee each morning and afternoon. I try not to drink soda other than when I go out to eat or to a movie, then I always have a diet coke. Eight glasses of water is my daily goal though I rarely meet that goal it's more like 4 if that.

Check out Victoria's personal blog @ www.victoriasimcox.blogspot.com



About Victoria:

Victoria was born in Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, to an Austrian immigrant mother, and a Dutch immigrant father. She now lives in Western Washington with her husband, Russ and their three children, Toby, Kristina, and William. Her other family members are a Chihuahua, named Pipsy and two cats, named Frodo and Fritz. Besides being an author, Victoria is a home-schooling mother of twelve years and an elementary school art teacher of eleven years. In her spare time, Victoria enjoys managing her two older children's Celtic band. She also loves writing, reading, painting watercolors, hiking, good movies, and just simply hanging out with her family and friends. 

Find Victoria:

Giveaway:
The author has generously provided 3 e-book copies of the book for an international giveaway! Just use the rafflecopter form below to enter for a chance to win one of the three copies! I hope you all enter and good luck!

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Teaser Tuesday (16)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!


Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Former piano prodigy Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone learning about her past and to make the boy who took everything from her—her identity, her spirit, her will to live—pay.

Josh Bennett’s story is no secret: every person he loves has been taken from his life until, at seventeen years old, there is no one left. Now all he wants is be left alone and people allow it because when your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, the mysterious new girl at school who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. But the more he gets to know her, the more of an enigma she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he will ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding—or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a rich, intense, and brilliantly imagined story about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

*TEASER* "so that means you're, like, free to do whatever the hell you want?"
 "Apparently so." He turns the ruler and traces a line along the edge of it with a pencil. "Of course, I can't murder anyone, so it has its limits,"

Monday, February 18, 2013

Fractured Soul by Rachel McClellan Blog Tour [Review + Giveaway]


Hey everyone! I'm very excited to be a part of the Fractured Soul by Rachel McClellan blog tour today. I have been excited about this post since I asked Rachel to be a stop on the blog tour and she said, YES. I met Rachel a year ago and she was a ton of fun to talk to and very humble about her book. I told her, "It's a good sign when your first book is published in hardcover." That is what I think anyways, I'm not saying only good books get published in hardcover, because that isn't the case. I have read some fantastic books that were paperback and even only available in ebook at the time. Now she has another book published, so she is definitely doing something right. I love her books, which you will hear about in my reviews. For the blog tour I did a review for Fractured Soul, but I also provided my review for Fractured Light. I hope you all like the reviews and become interested in the books! I'm excited to feature them today and spread the word. The Publisher & Author are also generously giving away a copy of Fractured Soul at this stop, so be sure to enter at the end of this post. Thank you to everyone who reads this post and a huge thank you to Rachel McClellan for having me on this tour.


Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan
★★★★☆

Llona Reese is used to living on the run. After the Vykens killed her parents, she knew they would eventually come for her too. She can’t take any chances. But when she starts to make friends for the first time in her life, she gets careless and lets her guard down. Big mistake.

As an Aura, Llona can manipulate light and harness its energy. But if she wants to survive, Llona will have to defy the Auran Council and learn to use her power as a weapon against the Vyken whose sole desire is to take her light. Now she’s caught in something even bigger than she can understand, with a power she can’t wield, and no one she can trust, except, just maybe, a mysterious stranger.

| Goodreads | Amazon | B&N |
(currently only $2.99 for the kindle book)


Llona lost her parents at a young age and had been living with her Uncle Jake ever since. She was forced to be the adult since Jake was still in a depressed state. Llona was special and had to hide what she was and refused to go to the school that promised people like her. She didn’t have any friends other than May and kept everyone at arms' length... until Christian came into her life. She learned to let people in, and she learned more about herself and the power she held inside.

This book was awesome, and I really enjoyed it. It took me a bit to get introduced to the story and learn the names of things; but once I got used to it, it was a fast, fun read. I enjoyed the characters and the subtle hints that were thrown my way. The book kept me guessing, but I got my AHA moment near the end. The characters felt real, and I really enjoyed seeing Llona change and the relationships grow between her and her new friends -- especially May and Christian.

The author had a very nice writing style that I found fluid and kept me wanting to read more. When she ended a chapter, it was difficult to stop with how they left off, which propelled me to continue reading more.

I met the author a year ago when she was at a book event at my college in Maine. I had seen Fractured Light around the blogging world and had already been interested in reading it, so I had to buy it when I saw her at the event. I love autographed books, of course. I actually had to leave the event, but she told me she was doing another event at Books-A-Million so I went to that one after, purchased her book, and got it autographed. My fiancé was with me and so was my friend Katie, and we ended up hanging out with her for the entire event and talking with her.

I arrived at Books-A-Million before she did and, at the time, knew a lot of the employees because they were previous Borders employees. They somehow had communication issues and didn’t know about the event; so luckily, I asked and they were able to get something set up for her. I wish there had been more awareness for her because she was a ton of fun to talk to (well, maybe I don't feel too bad since I was able to talk to her as much as I did), and now I know that her books are awesome.
 
It took me a while to begin reading it because this year has been crazy, but receiving the ARC of Fractured Soul so I could be a part of the blog tour was great incentive and at least this way I can start reading Fractured Soul right away.

I would definitely recommend this book to Fantasy readers. I’m really excited to start Fractured Soul and also look forward to reading more of Rachel’s work.



Fractured Soul by Rachel McClellan

★★★★★


Llona will do whatever it takes to protect her new found friends and home, but the dark plot that is threatening Lucent Academy, a school that’s supposed to be a safe place for Auras, may be too powerful for even Llona to defeat. This fast-paced tale of love, loyalty, and overcoming the darkness will keep you on the edge of your seat until the last page!

| Goodreads |  Amazon | B&N |


Llona graduated high school and decided to go to Lucent Academy, the school with people like her that she had fought going to. After recent events, she decided to go there with May to learn more about her powers and how to use them. The school is supposed to be safe, but Llona soon found out that was not the case. An evil plot was unfolding, and it was up to Llona and her friends to stop it.

My first thought after finishing the book was WOW. I just finished, and I’m reeling with emotions. I loved this book. I really loved the first book, but I loved this one even more. This one was packed full of action and Llona struggling through a lot of bad stuff. I don’t want to give anything away, but this book was killer.

Both books have made my heart sad, and I’m still having a hard time believing what happened in this one. If she hadn’t done such an awesome job making the book so gripping that I couldn’t let go of my Kindle, I may have thrown it.

The author does a fantastic job at making it so you can’t put the book down. The end of each chapter is a cliffhanger and the only thing you can do is jump off the cliff to find out what will happen next. I really like how she does this.

This was a very fast read and was an exciting journey every step of the way. The ending of this book seriously killed me, and the sneak peek of the next book made it worse. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book. I’m not sure how I’m going to wait for it. I’m going a little crazy right now.

This is a fantastic series that I will be continuing until the end.

I received this book from the author for review for her blog tour. I also received it from Netgalley after she sent it to me. Thank you both very much; I greatly enjoyed it and can’t wait for more.

What others are saying:


“I love these books! A kick-butt heroine and a hottie love interest, with a refreshingly original concept. Be prepared—once you start, these are hard to put down.”
Paula Cotton, book reviewer at ReadingLark.blogspot.com


“Fractured Soul is a brilliant sequel, exceeding even the remarkable first book in the series. It will haunt your every waking moment between the times you’re reading it, and it will stay with you long after you’ve finished. It’s an amazingly well written and engrossing story that I highly recommend—after you’ve read the first one, of course.”

Cindy Bennett, bestselling author of Geek Girl and Rapunzel Untangled


About Rachel:

Rachel McClellan was born and raised in Idaho, a place secretly known for its supernatural creatures. When she's not in her writing lair, she's partying with her husband and four crazy, yet lovable, children. Rachel's love for storytelling began as a child when the moon first possessed the night. For when the lights went out, her imagination painted a whole new world. And what a scary world it was...

Find Rachel:

Facebook | Blog | Website | Twitter | Goodreads |  Book Trailer |

Giveaway:
The author and publisher are generously providing a copy of Fractured Soul for a giveaway. The giveaway is US only, sorry international followers and readers. This is a fantastic book to win, I would like to enter! Can I enter my own giveaway? Enter to win by using the rafflecopter form below. I only require that you are a follower of my blog to win, everything else is optional.

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan Review


Fractured Light by Rachel McClellan
★★★★☆

I’m dying, I thought. This was unexpected and not at all how I envisioned my death. I was supposed to die gardening in a flowerbed as a hundred-year-old woman, not as a seventeen-year-old trapped in a lake beneath inches of ice.

Llona Reese is used to living on the run. After the Vykens killed her parents, she knew they would eventually come for her too. She can’t take any chances. But when she starts to make friends for the first time in her life, she gets careless and lets her guard down. Big mistake.

As an Aura, Llona can manipulate light and harness its energy. But if she wants to survive, Llona will have to defy the Auran Council and learn to use her power as a weapon against the Vyken whose sole desire is to take her light. Now she’s caught in something even bigger than she can understand, with a power she can’t wield, and no one she can trust, except, just maybe, a mysterious stranger.

In this breathtaking and romantic adventure, Rachel McClellan delivers a truly mesmerizing story that will keep you guessing to the very end. (Goodreads)


Llona lost her parents at a young age and had been living with her Uncle Jake ever since. She was forced to be the adult since Jake was still in a depressed state. Llona was special and had to hide what she was and refused to go to the school that promised people like her. She didn’t have any friends other than May and kept everyone at arms' length... until Christian came into her life. She learned to let people in, and she learned more about herself and the power she held inside.

This book was awesome, and I really enjoyed it. It took me a bit to get introduced to the story and learn the names of things; but once I got used to it, it was a fast, fun read. I enjoyed the characters and the subtle hints that were thrown my way. The book kept me guessing, but I got my AHA moment near the end. The characters felt real, and I really enjoyed seeing Llona change and the relationships grow between her and her new friends -- especially May and Christian.

The author had a very nice writing style that I found fluid and kept me wanting to read more. When she ended a chapter, it was difficult to stop with how they left off, which propelled me to continue reading more.

I met the author a year ago when she was at a book event at my college in Maine. I had seen Fractured Light around the blogging world and had already been interested in reading it, so I had to buy it when I saw her at the event. I love autographed books, of course. I actually had to leave the event, but she told me she was doing another event at Books-A-Million so I went to that one after, purchased her book, and got it autographed. My fiancé was with me and so was my friend Katie, and we ended up hanging out with her for the entire event and talking with her.

I arrived at Books-A-Million before she did and, at the time, knew a lot of the employees because they were previous Borders employees. They somehow had communication issues and didn’t know about the event; so luckily, I asked and they were able to get something set up for her. I wish there had been more awareness for her because she was a ton of fun to talk to (well, maybe I don't feel too bad since I was able to talk to her as much as I did), and now I know that her books are awesome.
 
It took me a while to begin reading it because this year has been crazy, but receiving the ARC of Fractured Soul so I could be a part of the blog tour was great incentive and at least this way I can start reading Fractured Soul right away.

I would definitely recommend this book to Fantasy readers. I’m really excited to start Fractured Soul and also look forward to reading more of Rachel’s work.

Buy Now:
(on sale for $2.99 right now)



Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (40)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Requiem  (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver
Expected Release Date: March 5, 2013

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge. (Goodreads)

This is one of my favorite series and I can't wait to read this book. The wait isn't much longer yay!

What are you waiting for?

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Teaser Tuesday (15)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!


Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever. (Goodreads)

*TEASER* "An hour and a half ago, he walked away from me in a pissy mood. Now he's smiling at me like he's just seen his best friend for the first time in years. Yup. He's got issues."


-Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

This book was flipping amazing! I devoured it in one day, going to sleep before I finished was not an option. I really wanted to share a teaser since I loved it so much even though I finished it a couple weeks ago. I got super busy and haven't been online much. This is a must read and I can't wait for the physical book to be re-released because I need to have it on my shelf!

Did I convince you yet?

Buy it now! The ebook is only 3.99 and well worth it.

Summer Spirit by G. Jay Blog Tour [Spotlight + Giveaway]


Welcome to the Summer Spirit by G. Jay Blog Tour put on by the awesome Tribute Books. On my blog today you get an inside look at G. Jay and his book Summer Spirit with a Guest Post and Q&A.  You even get a chance to win a copy of his book at the end of the post. To find out even more make sure to stop by other stops on the tour. You can find a link to the tour page in this post. Thank you all for visiting my blog and thank you especially to Tribute Books for having me on the tour.

Summer Spirit by G. Jay


Ryan Kinkaid, a successful gay Manhattan antique dealer has had it with life in New York City, especially his random love life. Ryan has what most New Yorkers want — his own successful business, and a mortgage-free brownstone on West 71st Street. However, at age forty-one he discovers he is lacking one very important thing in his life: a meaningful and loving relationship. With summer just around the corner, the approaching heat and his restlessness are reasons for his escape from the city. A four-month rental in historic and picturesque Portsmouth, New Hampshire, with his best friend Lauren was the answer.

Renting a house built in 1810, kindred spirit Nicholas reaches out for contact, and Ryan finds himself wanting to know about the past. However, Nicholas is not the only one wanting Ryan’s attention. Ty, a handsome local man, also has strong desires for Ryan.

The stark contrast of the past collides with the present in this tale of lost and betrayed love, and irrational and undying prejudice.
In the end, all that is left is the affirmation of the value of honesty and commitment in love.  

Guest Post:


The main character in Summer Spirit is 41-year-old Ryan Kinkaid. A New York City antique dealer who, throughout his adult life, has looked for that certain someone with whom he could have a loving, committed, and monogamous relationship. Some may ask, “So what’s the problem?” The problem is that in the gay world this is not as common as one may think.
As a gay man in my mid-50s, I have observed many gay “couples” who call someone their “partner.” Usually it’s the person whom they live with and share living expenses. However, their sexual lives are not exclusive. I’ve seen advances made at parties by someone in a relationship toward someone not their partner, or hear how when at a conference or the gym they hook up with someone. It is when hearing those individuals say, or do, such things I want to correct them by saying, “Don’t call him, or her, your partner. They are your roommate who you have sex with occasionally, nothing more. You’re shopping, and are only with him, or her, until you find someone better. Besides, it is demeaning to the other person to know they are not good enough.”
I’ve been chastised and criticized for this opinion. However, I certainly know I am not alone in my view, as I have met many couples who are in loving, exclusive relationships. However, if the truth be known, I think we are in the minority.
After 32 years, in 2010, my partner and I married in the state of New Hampshire. For the years prior I did not need to have a piece of paper to prove my commitment to him. I have always loved and wanted him. It is also safe to say that during those 32 years we had been through everything there is. Thereby, if you can stand up in front of family and friends and say vows of commitment to one another you mean them, because you’ve lived them, proven them.
At this time in our nation’s development, with the religious right trying so hard to shove homosexuality back into the closet and take away what few rights we have achieved over the years, gays have to work hard to promote positive relationships and dispel negative stereotypes. That piece of paper I mentioned above means everything to me.
I have written the character of Ryan Kinkaid to hold the same values as myself. He is not perfect or saintly; he has had his share of experiences. He is looking for someone who makes daily living worthwhile, someone to share life with and not be alone.
As a writer, I would like readers to be able to connect with my characters. I try hard to have them be realistic. I welcome any comments from readers on my book, your views on my characters and the relationships I portray. You can contact me through my website, www.gjayb.com.



Q&A:

Q: Please tell us about your current release.

A: Summer Spirit, A Ryan Kinkaid Mystery, is the first in my series of at least four books about a successful gay Manhattan antique dealer. This story starts with Ryan realizing he has had it with life in New York City, especially his random love life. Although he has what most New Yorker’s want – his own successful business, and a mortgage-free brownstone on West 71st Street, one very important thing is missing in his life . . . a meaningful and loving relationship. With summer just around the corner, the approaching heat and his restlessness are reasons for his escape from the city. He takes a four month rental in historic and picturesque Portsmouth, New Hampshire, with his best friend Lauren in hopes of gaining a new perspective on life.

Renting a house built in 1810, a kindred spirit Nicholas reaches out for contact, and Ryan finds himself wanting to know about the past. However, Nicholas is not the only one wanting Ryan’s attention. Ty, a handsome local man, also has strong desires for Ryan.

The stark contrast of the past collides with the present in this story of lost and betrayed love, and irrational and undying prejudice.

In the end, all that is left is the affirmation of the value of honesty and commitment in love.

Q: Can you tell us about the journey that led you to write your book?

A: On a recent trip to the South of France, my husband and I met a successful romance novelist who, over a dinner at a restaurant in Marseille, suggested that I try my hand at gay erotica. She said her gay friends told her she should write some books for that genre because they felt there weren’t any decent ones out on the market. However, since she’s straight and it wasn’t her genre, she wasn’t interested. That suggestion stayed with me and, after a few months, I acted on it.

In the past few years I have had in the back of my mind the idea of writing a book. Granted whatever story I thought was there was not based on gay erotica. But none the less, it was there.
My professional career for the last 30 years has been in the field of human resources. It afforded me the ability to see the various sides of people. For example, how they handle change and have an unending desire to hold on to the anger of past hurts and disappointments. Two issues I address in my book. I’ve since ended my career in human resources, focusing on writing the next book in the series.

Q: Can you tell us about the story behind your book cover?

A: The main graphic on the cover is a male figure. This figure can represent one of two male characters in the book, Ryan Kinkaid or Nicholas Walsh. In each case, the characters are unfulfilled until this certain summer where love and contentment gives life and color, uplifting their spirits.
What approaches have you taken to marketing your book?
Writing and publishing is all new territory for me. Marketing the book is something I am still working on. My publisher helped by setting up my website and I’m telling everyone I know and come in contact with about my book.

Q: What book on the market does yours compare to? How is your book different?

A: I think my book is unique in that if you take away the sexual aspect of it, there would still be a decent story there. Many books on the market that I have read in this genre are based solely on sex acts, which meet the needs of a large percentage of their readership.

Q: What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

A: I don’t know if it’s a quick, but I do not outline the book beforehand. I let the story happen as I write it.

Q: Open your book to a random page and tell us what’s happening.

A: Ryan, Lauren and Jason are traveling from Manhattan to Portsmouth for the weekend. On the way they stop at a rest area in Connecticut to use the facilities and Jason takes care of someone else’s business (if you catch my drift) along with his own.

Q: Do you plan any subsequent books?

A: Yes, this is the first in a series of at least four. The next book will be a continuation of the story between Ryan and Ty and is called Autumn Reveal.

Q: Tell us what you’re reading at the moment and what you think of it.

A: I’m not reading anything at the moment. I am focusing on writing Autumn Reveal. However, when I do, I’m sure it will be one of the more popular fiction books on the market. I doubt it will be gay erotica because I don’t want to influence my writing by how another author depicts sex in their story.


About G. Jay


A communications graduate of the City Universities of New York, and after twenty-nine years as a human resources administrator, Jay decided to apply his understanding of the complexities and foibles of the human character in a more creative way.

Like the main character, Ryan Kinkaid, Jay is a gay man who believes in love and commitment. He and his husband have been together for over thirty years and live on the West coast of Florida with their two cats. A transplant from New York, Jay continues to travel regularly to Portsmouth, New Hampshire, to connect with the New England life which he so loves.

Find G. Jay:

Giveaway:
Use the rafflecopter form below to enter to win an E-Book copy of Summer Spirit by G. Jay.

Saturday, February 9, 2013

Easy by Tammara Webber [Review]


Easy by Tammara Webber
★★★★★

Rescued by a stranger.
Haunted by a secret
Sometimes, love isn’t easy…


He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…

The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.

Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth—and find the unexpected power of love.

Jacqueline had her heart broken and didn’t want to do anything anymore. Her best friend took action and made her go to a party to get her out of her depression, which ended up changing her life. That night she met Lucas, who had seen her; but she had been so wrapped up in her ex-boyfriend that she had never seen him. After that night, she began running into him everywhere.

I don’t think I have words to describe this book. It was beautiful, honest, and heart-breaking. I finished it a week ago, and I’m still thinking about it. I have wanted to re-read it ever since I finished last Wednesday at 4:00 am. I could not put it down for the life of me. I seriously tried because I had class Wednesday at 9:00 am, but it wasn’t possible to stop reading. The story had a hold of me and has yet to let go.

My good friend Michele from A Belle’s Tales gifted this book to me after she read it and loved it. If I remember right, she stayed up all night reading it also. I would never have found this book if it wasn’t for her, and I’m really glad she gifted it to me because it is one of my new favorite reads.

This story is extremely powerful and broaches a very serious subject that is hard to talk about. It grabbed a hold of my heart, broke it, mended it, and then broke it all over again. It is impossible not to feel the array of emotions in this book.

The author did an amazing job, and I look forward to reading more of her work. Lucas and Jacqueline will be with me for a long time to come.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...