Search My Blog

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Opal by Jennifer Armentrout Book Trailer Reveal


Today is the official Opal by Jennifer Armentrout book trailer reveal! I seriously cannot wait for this book to come out! I love that the models from the book covers have become so involved and did book trailers for this series. It makes it even more fun and the characters more real. December 18th can't come soon enough! Enjoy this sneak peak, I know I did!


Opal by Jennifer Armentrout

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well... There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger... and they know it. (goodreads)


Opal (The third book in the Lux Series)
Available in both print and digital version on December 18, 2012
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Check out Jennifer L. Armentrout on the following sites:
Facebook
Twitter
Official Website

Monday, November 19, 2012

The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda Review



The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda
★★★☆☆

Gene was a human living in a world of vampires. Humans were called hepers in this world and they were a delicacy to the vampires. Humans had become extinct, and to survive, you had to pass as a vampire, which wasn’t easy. Gene couldn’t enjoy the luxury of the sun because he had to keep his skin pale; he couldn’t sweat, laugh, or smell in front of them. Gene had mastered keeping up his appearances until a heper hunt was announced and everyone had lottery tickets; the winners of the lottery would be in the hunt. Gene was one of the winners and he had to participate in the hunt for other humans. Survival started being a lot more difficult. Buy Now: AmazonBarnes & Noble


It has been months since I finished this book, and I’m still not sure what I think about it. I had a hard time picking a rating of three stars. I don’t usually have this much trouble with a book. It was creative and a different take on vampires and humans. I honestly haven’t read anything like it, but I just don’t know how I feel about it.

Part of me is curious about what will happen in the next book. I’m undecided if I will pick it up because I wasn’t in love with this book. What I do know is something about this book just didn’t feel right with me.

The author's writing didn’t bother me; I found the storyline creative and new. Sadly, I was disappointed because I was really excited about reading this book; and then, once I read it, I didn’t feel excited about it.
I received this book from Netgalley for review.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (37)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Expected Release Date:  December 11, 2012

No one is like Daemon Black.

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well... There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger... and they know it. (goodreads)

I'm obsessed with this series and Jennifer Armentrout's books in general! I can't flipping wait for this book! If you haven't read this series check it out!

Tuesday, November 13, 2012

Inanimate Objects by Kendra L. Saunders Review


Inanimate Objects by Kendra L. Saunders
★★★★☆

Inanimate Objects is a dark and glittering novel of artists and magicians, muses and immortals. At the heart of the story is Leonidas Bondi, a charismatic young artist who falls under the watchful gaze of Matilda August. Matilda has been a patron to the stars for hundreds of years, but this fickle muse is more than a little taken with her new protégé, blurring her own lines of work and obsession. Providing opposition is Matilda’s son, Elisha, a moody figure who holds revenge above all else after he suffers a terrible wrong. (Goodreads) Buy Now: AmazonBarnes & Noble



Inanimate Objects was a creative ensemble of stories using different points of view. While I read this book, I got lost in the dark, disjointed story that took place. This was very different than other stuff I have read.

It took me a little while to get used to the style of writing and switching back and forth between stories and points of view, but once I got used to it, everything fit together really well. I really liked how different the feel of the book was compared to other things I have read.

The author used words artfully and made a statement and impression with her work. I would be interested in reading more of her work in the future to see what she comes up with. I don’t see her as an author that follows trends and other ideas for writing. She will make a mark with her own kind of story.

Monday, November 12, 2012

Books to Die for Tour Stop : John Connolly


Books to Die For Tour Stop South Portland Maine
October 18, 2012 : 7pm
(John Connolly and I)

On Thursday, October 18th , I met John Connolly for the fourth time. I arrived, rocking my Burning Soul T-Shirt that he gave me last year. I was, of course, excited when I got there and was able to snag seats for my fiancé and myself in the front row. Someone even asked me, “Are you the official John Connolly cheering squad?” Yup, that would be me! They continued, “Where did you get your T-Shirt?”
“Oh, he gave it to me,” I answered like it was a normal thing.
“Are you related to him?”
“No, I have met him three times; he is awesome.” (Thinking: That would be flipping awesome, don’t I wish.) I think I gushed some more because her response to that was: “I can see why he gave you a T-shirt.” I guess I sort of praise him when I talk about him, but I can’t help it. He is awesome and so friendly and personable. When he saw me in the crowd, he waved at me; and, when he was coming up front to speak, he said, “Hi, Christie; how are you?” My brain went OMG OMG HE REMEMBERED MY NAME! I was seriously impressed. I met him three times before, but the last time was a year ago; and he meets a ton of people. I thought he would recognize me again, but I honestlydidn’t expect him to remember my name. I was sitting there smiling like an idiot, doing a happy dance in my head while the librarian introduced him and Julie Spencer-Fleming, who was also speaking.

The entertainment started right off; the library had these low, comfy-looking seats set up for them, but other than the people in the front row, they wouldn’t have been able to be seen. The whole time John Connolly spoke, I was almost always laughing. He is absolutely captivating and charismatic when he speaks. He talks very fast and so easily transforms whatever he is talking about and makes it funny or makes a joke about it. Inappropriate jokes - yup, he does that also, but I won’t repeat them. I will go to every event he does in Maine. I don’t care what he is talking about; I always enjoy listening to him. He is a ton of fun. Oh, and did I mention... HE REMEMBERED MY NAME! I still can’t get over that.
So, this event was about the new book Books to Die For that he helped put together and edit (and he says he will never take on anything like this again, but he was also glad that he did it). I’m not quoting because I can’t remember the exact words he used, but it was along those lines.

Forget books to die for... how about authors to die for, or at least authors you should meet before you die? John Connolly is definitely one of them; of course, if you don’t have a sense of humor, that may not be a good idea, but for most of us that do, you have to meet him. Even minus the humor, he is worth meeting because he is such a nice person. His parents must have brought him up right or something because he isn’t mean, arrogant, or full of himself at all - just a genuine, down-to-earth guy. If he ever comes to your town, seriously - make the time.  It is more than worth it.

I also still can’t get over how personable he is. He seriously cares; he has millions of fans, but he cared to remember me and remember my name. He was even trying to remember how to spell my name - he was wrong, which is totally fine, but he cared, so hey - maybe next time he will even know how to spell it. I’m totally not holding him to that, though. I have had teachers spell my name wrong for an entire year before and even family members, so if a national best-selling author just remembers my name and never knows how to spell it, I’m still ecstatic.

We also got to hear the story of how John Connolly ended up in Maine in the first place. It is a funny story and, even though he thinks we are all insane in Maine,  he keeps coming back.
The event was great and I will have to check out Books to Die For which is essays from popular authors today about mystery/crime books that influenced them. “Every author was a reader first” was how the concept of the book was being introduced. If you are a mystery/crime fan, this book is a great way to find out what your favorite authors' favorite books are.
(Autographing my books)

After the event he autographed books. I got two Charlie Parker books autographed and I also got Every Dead Thing, the first book in the Charlie Parker series, autographed for Michele from A Belle’s Tales. I talked so much about him she asked me to get her a book autographed for her, so of course I did. John talked to me and wasn’t offended that I didn’t get to finish Every Dead Thing myself before the event because of my insane school schedule. I really, really wanted to but just didn’t have the time. He gave me a set of cool post cards based on his Charlie Parker series, and he also gave me a set to give Michele. Even though I didn’t buy Books to Die For yet, he gave me a set of the trading cards anyways. Have I mentioned that he is awesome!?

(Trading Cards)

(Post Cards)

He also talked to my fiancé, asked him his name, shook his hand, and congratulated us on being engaged.

Thank you, John Connolly, for doing another event in Maine and I hope to see you here next year! Thanks for being so awesome; I will continue to get excited about you and I look forward to finishing Every Dead Thing and also reading the entire Charlie Parker series.

With most authors, I read the books and then want to meet them, but in this case, it was the opposite. I met the author and it made me want to read his books.

I know my post is totally gushy, but I can’t help it. I had a fantastic time and I can’t wait until I can see John Connolly again. Seriously, if you are reading this, you need to meet him at some point!


Books To Die For edited by John Connolly and Declan Burke

BOOKS TO DIE FOR is a unique, must-have anthology for any fan of the mystery genre, featuring personal essays from 120 of the world’s most beloved and renowned crime writers on the mysteries and thrillers that they most admire, edited by two of their own—John Connolly and Declan Burke.

Tana French on The Secret History by Donna Tartt; Jo Nesbø on Jim Thompson’s Pop. 1280; Kathy Reichs on The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris; Michael Connelly on Raymond Chandler’s The Little Sister, and Charlaine Harris on Geoffrey Household’s Rogue Male: these are just a few of the 120 internationally bestselling mystery writers showcased in this collection—a book every reader of crime fiction should own.

In the most ambitious anthology of its kind ever compiled, each author pays a deeply personal tribute to one mystery that means the most to them, explaining why that book affects them and how it has influenced their own work. This collection presents a treasure trove of works in the mystery genre by the people who know it best, and is an essential guide for all readers and writers. (Goodreads)

About John Connolly:

John Connolly was born in Dublin, Ireland in 1968 and has, at various points in his life, worked as a journalist, a barman, a local government official, a waiter and a dogsbody at Harrods department store in London. He studied English in Trinity College, Dublin and journalism at Dublin City University, subsequently spending five years working as a freelance journalist for The Irish Times newspaper, to which he continues to contribute. 

He is based in Dublin but divides his time between his native city and the United States. (Goodreads)

Thursday, November 8, 2012

1 Year Blogoversary Thank You and Giveaway




Today, I am celebrating my one-year blogoversary! Wow! I can’t believe I have been blogging for a year. I have to admit, at times, it seems like I have been blogging longer than that, but a year is pretty great. I want to thank all of my followers for visiting my blog and reading my reviews and sometimes-rambling craziness. I appreciate the continued support, especially when I have been MIA a lot. I’m a college student, as some of you know, and the workload has kept me busy, taking me away from blogging. I’m still way behind on writing reviews and review requests, but I do what I can when I have time. I love the blogging world and being able to talk to so many awesome people around the United States and the world about books, especially ones that I love. I have met some awesome people because of blogging, and I am very thankful for that. I have formed relationships with three awesome bloggers in particular: Michele (Cheles Bells) from A Belle’s Tales, Mickey from I’m A Book Shark, and Shellie from Creative Reads. These bloggers welcomed me into the blogging world a year ago, helped me out a lot along the way, and have become my friends. I am so thankful for their friendships; and, without blogging, I would have never met these awesome people.

            Without Mickey and Shellie, I may have never read Jennifer Armentrout's books (whom I just got to meet on Tuesday). She quickly won me over and has become one of my favorite authors. I haven’t met Michele from A Belle’s Tales in person, but she has made me part of her family and listened to me vent and witnessed some of my craziness. I’m very thankful to be able to call her my friend. She has helped me a ton with blogging and has read over many of my reviews and posts before they have gone live and edited for me. I want to say 'thank you' to her especially. Without her and the other friendships, I may have run away, terrified, from blogging in the beginning. So 'thank you' to these three bloggers and other bloggers who may have helped me along the way with tips and tricks.

            Thank you, especially, to my followers. When I started this blog, I never expected to have over 400 followers. I thought maybe I could get a few people to read what I had to say, but hundreds of followers... no way. You all seriously rock!

Thank you to all of the authors and publishers who have wanted to work with me in the past year! I’m sorry to those whose books I still haven’t had time to read and review, but I will get to them, I promise.  I greatly appreciate everyone’s patience and support since I’m in college. A BIG thanks to Tribute Books; since they caught sight of my blog in the early days, they have invited me on tons of blog tours and have worked with me a lot. I’m thankful for their continued support.

To anyone I may have missed, thank you.

GIVEAWAY:

I would like to celebrate this achievement by doing a giveaway for you guys. I’m giving away a book or e-book of your choice of up to $20 in value. If the winner chooses a physical book, then it will most likely be ordered from Amazon. If the winner is outside of the United States, then it will be ordered through The Book Depository. When you enter, please make sure your country is covered for free shipping. The winner will also win a SWAG pack. I will choose a second winner for just a SWAG pack.

^Some of the SWAG you can win

I will also add on another book winner for a book up to $15 if I get to 500 GFC followers by the end of this giveaway.


The winners will all be chosen randomly via Rafflecopter. To enter the giveaway, just enter the Rafflecopter form below. The only requirement to win is that you are a follower of my blog. The winners will be notified by email and will have 48 hours to respond before I will have to choose another winner.

Grab the Badge:







Tuesday, November 6, 2012

The Banker Spy by William G. Byrnes Blog Tour [Guest Post + Q&A]


Welcome! Today I'm at stop on the Banker Spy by William G. Byrnes blog tour which is put together by Tribute Books. I have a special guest post from the author today along with a Q&A with the author so you can find out more about him and his book. If you like Spy novels be sure to add this book on your list. Give a big welcome to William and his book The Banker Spy!

The Banker Spy Book by William G. Byrnes

The Banker Spy weaves history into a contemporary thriller about ex-lovers who become entangled in a web of international intrigue. Investment banker Peter Armstrong believes he’s left his past in the States. He has an exciting new job in London and is managing the largest equity offering in European history. Behind him are an incident at his old employer and a broken engagement. He thinks his only problem is his client—an automobile company desperate for cash. Then he receives a phone call from his ex-fiancée, Dayna Caymus, a beautiful and unpredictable CIA agent. When Peter discovers that his client is secretly working for the German government the two ex-lovers enter into an uneasy alliance which their past sometimes helps and sometimes hurts, all the while sorting through their feelings for each other. Dayna puts her mission first, leading Peter into a labyrinth of deception and conspiracy. Peter loses his client, his job, and almost his life as they race to learn Germany’s secrets—secrets that could start a nuclear war.

Buy Now: | Amazon |


Guest Post:

The real-life inspiration for my Dayna character once said to me that a good book both entertains and imparts knowledge. I had no desire to write a literary novel. I wanted to write a page turner! And, I took to heart the adage “write what you know.” I know something about investment banking, having been one for seventeen years. The obvious skill is transaction management, such as the equity offering in the book. The more subtle skill is client management, which my banker character puts to the test with an egotistical CEO and deceptive CFO. I wrote about my passions—European travel, history, wines, and automobiles. I hope I brought these alive and The Banker Spy provides escape and entertainment for you.

I wanted The Banker Spy to be both vivid and factually accurate. In the course of writing the book my wife and I made two trips to Germany. We visited every locale described in the book, except one. (For that, I enlisted the aid of Google Earth.) So when I say, for example, the characters turn left, head down the Ebertstrasse past the American embassy and the Holocaust Memorial, the reader could retrace the characters steps in Berlin. I took some liberties with the World War II manufacturing sites. In one case I was blocked from getting close by a chain link fence topped with concertina wire, so I had to use my imagination. In another, I combined two sites into one. I saw pictures of the L-shaped protrusions along route 2 outside of Augsburg described in my book, but I don’t know if they still exist or what purpose they serve. It’s on my bucket list to go back and find out.

The more ambitious part of writing The Banker Spy was following the real Dayna’s dictum to impart knowledge. When I began I was under the, perhaps naïve, assumption that the physical reminders, such as buildings, of Nazi Germany has been obliterated. That is not the case. Trappings such as Nazi eagles and swastikas have been removed but the buildings remain. In Munich, Hitler’s apartment, the beer garden where he narrowly escaped assassination, and the plaza where he gave many speeches are essentially unchanged. Goering’s Luftwaffe headquarters in Berlin is now the Ministry of Finance. Many of the underground manufacturing facilities, where slave labor produced V1 and V2 rockets, remain. Some are open for tours.

Although I had some knowledge of post-war Europe, I had no idea about the shifting of German, Polish and Russians borders, the mass deportations that followed or the brutal winters that added to the suffering and death. At times, The Banker Spy seemed to write itself. Russia occupying Silesia, giving it to Poland, and deporting all ethnic Germans became the basis for politically powerful expellee groups in Germany and Germany’s desire to reclaim its lost territory. All figure prominently in my story. A writer learns from writing. 

Q&A:


Please tell us about your current release.

The Banker Spy weaves history into a contemporary thriller about ex-lovers who become entangled in a web of international intrigue. Investment banker Peter Armstrong believes he’s left his past in the States. He has an exciting new job in London and is managing the largest equity offering in European history. Behind him are an incident at his old employer and a broken engagement. He thinks his only problem is his client—an automobile company desperate for cash. Then he receives a phone call from his ex-fiancée, Dayna Caymus, a beautiful and unpredictable CIA agent.
When Peter discovers that his client is secretly working for the German government the two ex-lovers enter into an uneasy alliance, which their past sometimes helps and sometimes hurts, all the while sorting through their feelings for each other. Dayna puts her mission first, leading Peter into a labyrinth of deception and conspiracy. Peter loses his client, his job, and almost his life as they race to learn Germany’s secrets—secrets that could start a nuclear war.
Set against the backdrop of a national election, action takes place in and around Munich, and in Berlin, Washington and London.

Can you tell us about the journey that led you to write your book?

I always wanted to write and for years would sketch out ideas, but they lacked the critical mass to develop into a book. My wife and I were flying to Germany for a vacation a few years ago. Whenever we’d go to Europe I’d buy a book that had something to do with the country we were visiting. I’d read a lot about the World War II area, an interest of mine, and wanted something different. So I picked up a book on post-War Germany and read it on the flight over. The story of The Banker Spy literally came to me by the time I’d finished reading the book. Over dinner the next night, I outlined the plot to my wife. With some modifications and embellishments, it’s the story you’ll read in The Banker Spy.

Can you tell us about the story behind your book cover?

It’s pretty straightforward. I wanted a cover, and a title, that conveyed a sense of the book to the reader. On the cover is a man in a suit, carrying a briefcase, and a woman holding binoculars, standing next to each other. This suggests (I hope!) the two principal characters are a man and a woman, and they have a relationship. The suit and briefcase conveys the banker and the binoculars, the spy. They’re looking at landmark buildings, which gives the reader the idea where the book takes place.

What approaches have you taken to marketing your book?

I’m just beginning marketing and I’m very excited about my blog tour. I’m also asking friends and professional reviewers to post reviews about The Banker Spy. I believe that creating a buzz through word-of-mouth and posted reviews is the most effective way for an indie author, particularly one who’s published an eBook, to generate interest. 

What book on the market does yours compare to? How is your book different?

I really like Daniel Silva’s work. I’m not comparing myself to him or his books. Silva’s obviously an extremely successful author. I like that his books are set in Europe and he conveys a feel for the locale, particularly Italy. His principal characters are in a relationship and both are spies, although neither want to be. In The Banker Spy, the banker is dragged into espionage, just like Silva’s characters get called back into service. My principal characters have a more complicated, at times adversarial, relationship than Silva’s and it’s not resolved at the end of The Banker Spy.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I’m not sure if this is a quirk but I like delving into history as part of the story, perhaps in greater detail then most thriller writers. The Banker Spy draws on historical events and places. The past is carried forward and guides the plot. Even my characters are deeply influenced by their pasts. Oftentimes, I got lost in my research because I found the information so interesting. This isn’t a historical novel, it takes place today and is very contemporary, but it has a strong historical basis and my characters experience the influences of history. 

Open your book to a random page and tell us what’s happening.

Since you can’t flip open an eBook, I swept my stylus quickly along the bottom of my iPad’s screen and wound up at the last page in chapter 21. Dayna, Peter’s ex-fiancée and CIA agent, is talking to the CIA station chief in Berlin about the chancellor of Germany. Germany is in the midst of a national election and the chancellor is running for his second, and final, term. The race is close. Unknown to the German voters, the chancellor has a secret program to make Germany a nuclear power and reclaim the territory it lost after World War II. Dayna is tasked with stopping the chancellor. If she can come up with something bad from his past, he will lose the election and the German threat will end.

Do you plan any subsequent books?

I put a lot of thought into developing my principal characters, Peter and Dayna. I think there’s good tension and a complicated chemistry between them (of course, I’m biased!) and I’d like to see how their relationship plays out. I planted the seeds for their next adventure in The Banker Spy when Peter, an investment banker, gets the assignment to sell the German automobile company that figures prominently in the story. I’m thinking about sending them to Mexico or South America, but we’ll have to wait and see.

Tell us what you’re reading at the moment and what you think of it.

I like reading a mixture of non-fiction (principally history and business) and fiction. I just finished Killing Lincoln, by O’Reilly and Dugard. The book conveyed a real sense of time and place. The authors communicated a great deal of information about Lincoln, the civil war and Washington, D.C. As O’Reilly said, it reads like a thriller. In fiction, my latest read was Daniel Silva’s Fallen Angel. Just like his principal character, Silva paints wonderful pictures of his characters and locations. Just before that I read David Baldacci’s (another favorite author of mine) The Innocent. Like Silva, Baldacci creates unique characters. Baldacci’s books are fast moving and I like that much of the action takes place around Washington, DC, where I’ve lived most of my life.



About William G. Byrnes's

Bill Byrnes was an investment banker with Alex. Brown & Sons for 17 years. After that he was a Distinguished Teaching Professor of Finance and, subsequently, member of the Board of Regents at Georgetown University. He's founded three companies and has served on the boards of six public companies. He holds degrees from Georgetown University and the University of Michigan. His interests include European and Mesoamerican history, wine collecting, and automobiles. He's happiest around the water and on the tennis court. Bill, his wife, and their two poodles divide their time between Washington, DC and West Palm Beach, FL.

Thursday, November 1, 2012

Gilded Wings by Amy Lignor Blog Tour [Guest Post + Excerpt]


Welcome! Today I am very excited to be a part of the Gilded Wings by Amy Lignor blog tour. I read Until Next Time and loved it after receiving it from the author to review.  I believe that review is what got my blog noticed my the wonderful Tribute Books, who I have been working with ever since. I have been anticipating the next book in this series and actually asked to be a pat of the blog tour when I saw there was a release date for the book. It was a while before the blog tour was even planned, but I had to be part of it. Needless to say I'm pretty excited about this book. On my post you get to read a small excerpt from the book and a guest post from one of the characters, Matt. I hope you enjoy the post as much as I did.

Gilded Wings by Amy Lignor

The Beloved Angel/Warrior Team from Until Next TimeReturns!

When Matt and Emily are sent on their second mission they have no idea how truly dark human nature can become…

Emily never wanted to face humans again. With the heartache that went on down below, she’s still trying to figure out how to save souls that don’t deserve saving. The only one she wants to see again is Jason - the young man she fell in love with who became the soulmate she simply can’t forget…

Matt was trained to protect and defend the souls down below. Longing to feel the heartfelt emotions that come from being human, Matt wants nothing more than to have just one life - one chance - to live and love the girl of his dreams…

The powerful team find themselves in a brand new century, living in the Gilded Age of New York City. Emily takes over the body of Anya, a young Russian girl who arrives on Ellis Island after a hideous tragedy. There she meets up with a strangely familiar young man by the name of Drew Parrish, who helps Anya survive in an unknown world of luxury, snobbery and…obsession.

What Anya’s inner angel doesn’t know is that the soul she loves is also back. This time around Jason goes by the name of Max Carrow. Once a quiet and kind boy, he’s now part of the ‘Four Hundred Club,’ and wants nothing more than to be among the most admired as he climbs the shaky ladder of society’s elite.

As two worlds merge, Emily and Matt struggle under the weight of their “Gilded Wings.” Not only will they have to figure out who they should fight to save, but they must also face a romantic choice that could destroy them both. (Goodreads)

Excerpt:

Anya..Even after all this time her name still makes me ill. I blame her for being the vessel that held my soul the second time around. She’s my alter-ego, like those comic book superheroes down below who do battle with their villainous counterparts. Although in that life, I suppose I was the villain. That life... The one where I finally understood what a thin line there is between the person we truly are and the person we have the ability to become.

On our first trip into the human world the wealthy and powerful reigned, so slaying those sinners on earth was justifiable—it was simply our job. Of course, we didn’t know until later that the Irish world which had been serving as the backdrop for our first try was just a dress rehearsal to prepare us for the truly dangerous demons that had yet to make an appearance in the hearts of mankind.


Character Guest Post:


A Day in the Life of a Warrior

Hey everybody! This is Matthew and I was asked to take you all through a ‘day in the life’ of ME up here. I have to say, it’s basically like a day in the life down there - just way brighter. Sometimes it actually hurts your eyes. My partner, Emily (you know, the sarcastic one) actually brought sunglasses up here. She kind of looks like she’s playing the lead in Grease. Anyway…

People ask if I sleep and I do…actually, more than I should. But when  I rise, I head into the TV room where I watch the news. I don’t like it most times. We see everything that’s going on down there and try to figure out ways to help from up here - which is really hard. After eating - and yes, we eat - BIG TIME. (I can’t even tell you how amazing the food is up here. Anything you want at any time of day. Forget McDonald’s, Heaven lets you have it ’Your Way’ all the time.

After breakfast I head to Michael’s classroom with Emily. She and I - and I know we’re too old for shenanigans now - still like to drive him nuts. Yesterday she brought one of St. Francis’ elephants into class (her name is Jenny). She trumpeted her horn while Michael tried to teach us about the Roman Army. I have to say…it would’ve been boring without the elephant. Jenny made cool special effects.

Heading into Gabriel’s classroom, Emily and I still train in the pit. We need to make sure we can fight down there, protect - unfortunately, if we’re a little on the angry side with each other the battles can get a little out of hand sometimes. But…I don’t think it can be helped…the emotions between us. Well…you all know by now what I‘m fighting for when it comes to her.

We’re getting prepared for our, hopefully, ‘third time’s the charm’ lifetime, and things will be way different. I still hold the hope that we’ll be partners down there in other ways besides the job when all is said and done. We usually break from each other after Gabe and Mike. She heads to Francis and I usually head to our favorite ‘love saint’ because I really need to get that whole thing together in order to make Em see that I’m the charming one…and not Jason.

There’s a lot of hallways to run around and doors to open up here, so it’s kind of an adventure everyday. And then, when the sun sets, I always head into the library (my favorite place) and Emily is always sitting there. I swear, I hope in one of these lives she can be a librarian. After all, that’s what she loves. 

I hope I can meet you all up here someday; it would be cool since you‘re reading our stories. But, for right now, I’d rather meet you down there. Life is a whole lot of fun…and it’s SO not over for me and Em!

Until Next Time, Everybody.
Matthew, out!


Until Next Time by Amy Lignor

How does a girl choose between the one who steals her heart and the one who owns her soul?

Matt and Emily were created for a specific job. Raised and trained as the ultimate angel/warrior team, they are sent down to save, defend, judge and forgive, depending on the 'life' they've been assigned. What they don't realize is that the power of human emotions, such as love, anger, passion and fear can take over even the best of souls, causing them to make mistakes and follow paths that lead to confusion and heartache.

When the reason for their training is finally revealed, the angel/warrior team find themselves thrust into a world they know nothing about. Matt takes over the life of Daniel, a young man with a great deal of baggage. Emily becomes Liz, a girl living in a remote village who relies on nothing more than her own strength to survive. A violent storm erupts one night, and framed in the window of Liz's establishment is a frightening face. Let in by the soul of a Good Samaritan, the two visitors bring with them a past full of secrets that could literally change an angel's path and a warrior's plans.

From murder to redemption, this angel/warrior team must find a way to keep the faith they have in each other in a world that's ripping them apart. (Goodreads)


Find The Angel Chronicles:


About Amy:

Amy Lignor began her career at Grey House Publishing in northwest Connecticut where she was the Editor-in-Chief of numerous educational and business directories.

Now she is a published author of several works of fiction. The Billy the Kid historical The Heart of a Legend; the thriller, Mind Made; and the adventure novel, Tallent & Lowery 13.

She is also the owner of The Write Companion, a company that offers help and support to writers through a full range of editorial services from proofreading and copyediting to ghostwriting and research. As the daughter of a research librarian, she is also an active book reviewer.

Currently, she lives with her daughter, mother and a rambunctious German Shepherd named Reuben, in the beautiful state of New Mexico. 

Find Amy:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...