Search My Blog

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Teaser Tuesday (10)


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!


Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi-pure-bloods-have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals-well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she's crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn't her biggest problem--staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck. (Goodreads)

*TEASER* "I'm ready to move onto something else, like practicing with knives or defense against the dark arts. Cool things."

"Did you just quote Harry Potter?"

I grinned. "maybe I did."

-Half-Blood


 I know that was a little over two sentences but I didn't want to cut it and it doesn't give too much away. It is just a fun quote. I just read Half-Blood in pretty much a day and I absolutely loved it. Check out this book if you haven't. I hope you enjoyed the teaser!

Monday, October 15, 2012

Childhood Cancer Awareness Survey (College project help please)

Hey all of my awesome followers. I'm working on a project for one of my college classes and I'm focussing on pediatric cancer awareness. I would be appreciative of anyone who could take the time to take the survey I made. There are actually two surveys since it only let me do ten questions at a time. If you take the survey please don't look up answers, it doesn't matter and it is anonymous. The point is, awareness and I am trying to see what people are aware of when it comes to childhood cancer. I greatly appreciate anyone who can help me on this. Thank you in advance, you rock.

Create your free online surveys with SurveyMonkey, the world's leading questionnaire tool.
Create your free online surveys with SurveyMonkey, the world's leading questionnaire tool.

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Dark Nebula by W.J. May [Cover Reveal]


Today I am really excited to be a part of the Dark Nebula by W.J. May cover reveal. This is the second book in the Chronicles of Kerrigan series.  I read the first book, Rae of Hope and absolutely loved it. I have been waiting for Dark Nebula quite impatiently since I finished, now the wait is almost over. When W.J. May emailed me about the cover reveal, I got so excited and am happy to get to share it with all of you. The cover is gorgeous and I can't wait to get my hand on the book. I hope you all like the cover and if you haven't read Rae of Hope you should!

Dark Nebula (The Chronicles of Kerrigan) by W.J. May
Expected Release Date: December 15, 2012

Nothing is as it seems anymore.

Leery from the horrifying incident at the end of her first year at Guilder Boarding School, Rae Kerrigan is determined to learn more about her new tattoo. looks Her expectations are high, an easy senior year and a happy reunion with Devon— the boy she’s not supposed to date. All hopes of happiness fade into shattered dreams the moment she steps back on campus.

Lies and secrets are everywhere, and a betrayal cuts Rae deeply. Among her conflicts and enemies, it appears as if her father is reaching out from beyond the grave to ruin her life. With no one to trust, Rae doesn’t know where or who to turn to for help.

Has her destiny been written? Or will she becomes the one thing she hates the most-- her father’s prodigy.


Rae of Hope by W.J. May

How hard do you have to shake a family tree to find out the truth of the past?

Fifteen-year-old Rae Kerrigan has never questioned her family’s history. That is until she accepted a scholarship to Guilder Boarding School in England. Guilder is a very unique, gifted school.

Rae has no idea what she is getting herself into or that her family’s past is going to come back and taunt her. She learns she is part of an unparalleled group of individuals who become marked with a unique tattoo (tatù) on their sixteenth birthday. The tatù enables them to have supernatural powers particular to the shape of their marking.

Both her parents were marked though Rae never knew, as they passed away when she was young and never told her. Learning about her family’s past, her evil father and sacrificial mother, Rae needs to decide if there is a ray of hope for her own life. 

Haven't read Rae of Hope? Get the ebook for free on October 15th from Amazon!


About WJ MAY:

Wanita May grew up in the fruit belt of Ontario - St.Catharines. With a crazy-happy childhood, she has always had a vivid imagination and way too much energy.The youngest of six -- four older brothers, and a sister -- taught her at a young age to be competitive in all aspects of life.

At sixteen, she began competing in athletics (track and field) and before she turned seventeen, she was representing Canada in high jump. She continued to compete, breaking Canada's JR High Jump record (1.92m - 6' 3 1/2" for those metric-ly challenged). She attented University of Toronto, and Kansas State University - winning CIAU's and becoming All-American 6x - NCAA Indoors Runner Up + more.
But you're not interested in her athletic career - unless of course you're curious to know she stands 1.70m (5'7") and has jumped 20cm over her head on more than one occasion. She's represented Canada at the World Championships, World Jrs., won Francophone Games, and loved every minute of every competition. From the grueling workouts, the crazy weights she lifted on her back, the days she thought her lungs were going to spit out of her mouth for lack of oxygen, the traveling around the world and the opportunity to read - her favorite past time.

Life continued with her husband (a distance runner from Liverpool, UK, who she met at KSU) and then their first, then second and finally third child. Their house became full of more imagination and stories. Wanita and her husband run an online business, dealing in antiques and collectables - particularly jewelry and porcelain

After her father passed away in 2009, from a six-year battle with cancer (which she still believes he won the fight against), she began to write again. A passion she'd loved for years, but realized life was too short to keep putting it off.

Her first book, Rae of Hope - from the Chronicles of Kerrigan, published by Mitchell Morris Publishing debuted Oct 2011. Dark Nebula is available December 15th, 2012.
She is represented by Dawn Dowdle of Blue Ridge Literary Agency. Wanita is a writer of Young Adult, Fantasy Fiction and where ever else her little muses take her.

Find W.J. May:

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Teaser Tuesday (9)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!


Every Dead Thing by John Connolly

Hailed internationally as a page-turner in a league with the fiction of Thomas Harris, this lyrical and terrifying bestseller is the stunning achievement of an "extravagantly gifted" (Kirkus Reviews) new novelist. John Connolly superbly taps into the tortured mind and gritty world of former NYPD detective Charlie "Bird" Parker, tormented by the brutal, unsolved murders of his wife and young daughter. Driven by visions of the dead, Parker tracks a serial killer from New York City to the American South, and finds his buried instincts -- for love, survival, and, ultimately, for killing -- awakening as he confronts a monster beyond imagining...

*TEASER* "Why did you shoot him?"
"You weren't around," I replied, my teeth gritted in pain. "If you'd been here I'd have shot you instead." 

-Every Dead Thing by John Connolly, pg. 21

Some of you may have seen me post this quote on facebook or twitter yesterday, but I thought it would be an awesome teaser tuesday post since I haven't done one in a few weeks. College has been kicking my butt and I had been reading the same book for over a month. I finally got to finish and am now starting Every Dead Thing by John Connolly in hopes to finish it for the 18th. John Connolly is on a book tour and is coming here and am excited to get to go to another one of his events. A lot of you may already know that I have met him 3 times and absolutely love talking to him. I'm really excited and am looking forward to reading more of this book, that quote was a good indication that I will love it. 

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed my teaser!

Thursday, October 4, 2012

War Stories by Elisabeth Doyle Blog Tour [Spotlight, Q&A]



Welcome to the War Stories by Elisabeth Doyle Blog tour, put together by Tribute Books. On my stop today I'm featuring the book and the author has done a Q&A to share with all of you. At the end of the post you will also find a rafflecopter form. You can enter to win a paperback copy of War Stories, it is quick and easy. WHat is better than winning a book? I hope you all enjoy the post and thank you Elisabeth Doyle and Tribute books for having me on this blog tour.

War Stories by Elisabeth Doyle

We all carry our own battle scars. 

This is the premise of War Stories, a rich collection of short fiction that draws upon both the literal and figurative meaning of its title.  Through a diverse array of characters, settings, and circumstances, War Stories delivers a series of powerful tales from the home front of war: the stories of parents, siblings, and spouses of those who have fought, as well as those who have returned from battle.

Set against the backdrop of contemporary conflicts, War Stories’ compelling nine narratives tell of a wounded veteran who seeks renewal through an imagined relationship with a neighborhood girl, a grieving father who finds peace and reconciliation at the site of a disastrous bus crash, a young woman who searches for identity and meaning in the wake of her husband’s injury, and an urban teenager engaged in a fateful standoff with local recruiters. Interspersed with these tales are powerful, non-traditional “war stories” – of youth, unexpected loss, and heartbreaking love.

War Stories’ thoughtful and beautifully crafted tales, which range in style from deceptively simple to rich and complex, tell of people young and old, male and female, who share two things: humanity and resilience. These diverse and deftly written stories are joined through Elisabeth Doyle’s remarkable style and ease in creating a universe full of despair, hope, and dreams. At turns tender and harsh, tragic and yearning, these stories will leave you wanting more.

About Elisabeth


Elisabeth Doyle is a writer and attorney living in Washington, D.C. She studied fiction writing at Sarah Lawrence College and the University at Albany, and is completing a Masters of Laws Degree at Georgetown University Law Center.  Ms. Doyle’s short fiction was published in the literary journal Nadir and was awarded the University at Albany’s Lovenheim Prize for best short fiction. Her first short film, Hard Hearted One, was admitted into the Philadelphia Festival of World Cinema and the Street Films Film Festival, and was shown on Public Television and Manhattan Cable. War Stories is her first collection of short fiction.

Find Elisabeth:


Q & A


Please tell us about your current release.

War Stories is a lean collection of short fiction – nine stories – many of which are set against the backdrop of contemporary conflicts, including the war in Vietnam and current wars.

Can you tell us about the journey that led you to write your book?

In January 2002, I traveled for the first time to the country of Vietnam. I went there on a bit of a lark – a childhood friend of my mother’s was working there and had extended a kind of “open invitation” to visit.  For some reason, I decided to go.  Maybe I shouldn’t say “for some reason” – I was born during the war in Vietnam, and the conflict endured throughout my early childhood. I had vague memories of the images of war that flickered on our small television screen each evening. Usually, these images were mere background to our lives – they played out as my mother cooked dinner.  No one seemed to pay great attention.  I also had vague recollections of the scenery of Vietnam – some mountains and a village. I’m not sure where or when I saw those early childhood images – perhaps on a news program, or in a later documentary.
In any event, I traveled to Vietnam in 2002, and it’s safe to say that the experience changed my life, and opened for me new doors of interest, of passion, and of compassion.  I returned with a deep and abiding interest in the war in Vietnam, its history, and its effect on American soldiers and Vietnamese citizens. I read – and continue to read – anything that I can get my hands on regarding the war. I focused primarily on first-hand autobiographical accounts by soldiers.
I had a background in fiction writing, but hadn’t written a short story in years. When I relocated to Washington in late 2006, I resolved to return to writing, mostly at the urging of my mother and grandparents.  Away from the distractions of family and familiarity, in a new city, I was able to find the peace in which to write.  It should be noted that I did not set out to write a collection of short stories on the topic of war. In fact, I did not set out to write a collection, at all. I just wrote – one story after another.  And what I found, as I wrote, was that the theme of war continued to assert itself in each of these stories, in one way or another.  After years of reading and learning, war had apparently become the foremost, organizing principle in my mind; the circumstance around which all other things revolved.  It emerged as a theme that linked all of the new stories that I wrote, without conscious or deliberate effort or planning on my part.
It should be noted that these are not combat stories, nor do they attempt or purport to be historically accurate or to give voice to the actual experience of those who have fought. Only those who have had to fight, or who have lived in a war zone, can truly understand that experience.  These stories are just that – stories – written with the deepest respect and empathy for those who have found themselves in such extreme circumstances, and who have faced the kind of difficult, unforgiving choices that most of us can only imagine.       


Can you tell us about the story behind your book cover?

Sure.  Well, suffice it to say that the book cover underwent a lot of changes, much to the annoyance of the cover designer, who (nonetheless) was a wonderfully good sport about it.  It was important to me to create a cover that was NOT obviously rooted in or reflective of the topic of war.  This was so because, first, the title “War Stories” is used both literally and figuratively.  That is, while the majority of stories in the collection are set against the backdrop of war, other stories are not. These additional tales reflect “war stories” of another kind – the kind that we might all experience.  So I wanted the cover to encompass all the themes in the book.
I chose to use a triptych of photos - a series of photos that could each be traced, if a reader so desired, to one or more of the stories in the collection. The characters in the photos are loosely representative of several of the characters in the book.

What approaches have you taken to marketing your book?

The book has been sent out to numerous reviewers and publications, in the hopes of garnering print reviews, and will be presented to bookstores, with stores having the option to carry the book or not. The book also has a website, through which people can purchase the collection, and a face book page.  I’ve provided free advance copies to certain friends and colleagues, as well, in the hopes that – if they enjoy the stories – they will post reviews on their face book pages. 

What book on the market does yours compare to? How is your book different?

I don’t really think that I can make comparisons – each book, each author, are entirely unique.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I tend to write in a “spare” style, and make a deliberate, conscious effort to avoid sentimentality or over-statement of any kind.  That’s just me. I don’t know that I succeed, but I try to convey the characters’ circumstances and states of mind without excess or manipulation of the reader.  I also deliberately write without any “message” or agenda in mind.  None of these stories, even those that are set against the backdrop of war, are intended to convey any kind of political message, and none of them were written with any kind of agenda or judgment.  I wouldn’t even begin to know how to write a story with an agenda or message in mind.  In general, I write short stories as a series of vignettes – as moments in time, things that happened - from which the reader can draw his or her own conclusions, messages, etc. I prefer to leave the interpretation of the “meaning” of my stories in the hands of the reader. 

Open your book to a random page and tell us what’s happening.

I did as you asked and opened the book to a random page. It happens to be the first page of the story “The Deepest, Darkest Part of the Woods,” on page 53.  This happens to be one of my favorite stories, and one of the last in the collection that I completed.  It’s one of the stories in the collection that takes the most risks, I think, and revolves around a young veteran who returns to his suburban neighborhood and struggles to re-integrate.  This first page is also one of my favorites in the book, as it describes the return of this young man – and others like him – into a familiar setting that is now entirely unfamiliar to him.

Do you plan any subsequent books?

I hope so.  I’ve begun a growing list of new short story ideas, and I hope to begin working on them in the very near future. I’m looking forward to that.   I also hope to segue back into filmmaking at some point, to work on one or more of the documentary projects that I’d like to explore.

Tell us what you’re reading at the moment and what you think of it.

I’m a bit of a history buff, and (in particular) have a longstanding interest in the civil war and the civil rights movement. I’m currently (slowly) reading through the Taylor Branch trilogy about the civil rights movement – I’m working on Part 1 of the series, which is called “Parting the Waters.”  I’m so deeply moved by the courage of those individuals – known and unknown – who put their lives and safety on the line for the higher purpose of justice and freedom.  I can only hope to develop some small fragment of that kind of courage. I also just purchased several new books – “The Fiery Trial – Abraham Lincoln and American Slavery” by Eric Foner, and a history of the civil war by Shelby Foote.  I think the civil war and the civil rights movement are pinnacles in the evolution of our nation, and moments in which we can observe what is highest, best, and most divine in humanity.     

Giveaway:

Enter to win a paperback copy of War Stories by Elisabeth Doyle by using the rafflecopter form below. This giveaway is for US mailing addresses only, I'm sorry to international followers.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...