Search My Blog

Friday, August 31, 2012

The Last Degree by Dina Rae Blog Tour [Excerpt]


Today I'm hosting a stop for The Last Degree by Dina Rae Blog Tour. The author kindly provided an excerpt from the book to share with us today. I hope you all enjoy it and give Dina and her new book a warm welcome! Thank you for having me on this blog tour.


The Last Degree by Dina Rae

The Last Degree is a fictionalized account of how Freemasons and other secret societies set up the world for takeover. Ancient writings foretell a ‘Shining One’ who emerges as the world’s prophet. A murder of a Most Worshipful mason resembles a secret oath. A cop gets too close to solving the crime. Paranoid preppers go underground, preparing for war.

Headlines such as the Norway massacre, meltdown of the European Union, unscrupulous media, animal die-offs, Middle Eastern unrest, and U.S. shrinking power make the plot relevant to present day. This book is an ode to Christians, Birthers, 2012ers, Truthers, preppers, and/or other conspiracy junkies who enjoy Dan Brown, Jesse Ventura, Brad Meltzer, Alex Jones, Jerry Jenkins and Tim LaHaye.


Excerpt:

Dwight took off his crown, signifying he was no longer playing King Solomon.
“Sacrifice is expected for ones that you love.  Do you love me?” Dwight shouted.  “Then bow down before me and offer praise!”
Everyone knelt and laid their head down to the floor, chanting 'Most Worshipful,
Most Worshipful' several times before Dwight commanded them to get up.
In a manic energetic state, Dwight vociferated, “Et vitam impendere vero!”  All repeated, with the three new pledges joining in.  Minutes later, he began to calm down.  “To sacrifice life for truth - that is what we must always do!  You must trust me as your Most Worshipful and sacrifice at my command!  Are you prepared to do this?”  All three pledges nodded.

Dwight pulled the content baby out of Arthur's arms and threw it high into the air.  As the baby began to descend, Dwight took his sword and hacked through its neck, decapitating it before it hit the floor.  Only the three pledges shrieked in horror.  He sinisterly smiled as he picked up the head and body, revealing it was only a doll.
“Don't believe with your eyes, but believe with your knowledge.  We are his chosen and will soon be exalted.”
The three men looked down at their hands and tried not to scream.  They were covered in blood.
“Sacrifice, my brothers, sacrifice.  I will teach you well.  You are all Chiefs of the Tabernacle!  Let us go and celebrate!” Dwight gleamed.

Buy Now:

Free September 27th-28th! 
Check out the Prequel:


About Dina:
Dina Rae is a new author here to stay.  As a former teacher, she brings an academic element to her work.  Her two novels, Halo of the Damned and The Last Degree, weave research and suspense throughout the plots.  Her short story, Be Paranoid Be Prepared, is a prequel of sorts to The Last Degree, focusing on the James Martin character.  Dina also freelances for various entertainment blogs.

Dina lives with her husband, two daughters, and two dogs outside of Chicago.  She is a Christian, an avid tennis player, movie buff, and self-proclaimed expert on several conspiracy theories.  When she is not writing, she is reading novels from her favorite authors Dan Brown, Anne Rice, Stephen King, Brad Thor, George R.R. Martin, and Preston & Childs.

Find the Dina:
Website | Blog |


Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (35)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick
Expected Release Date:  October 23, 2012

FinaleFates unfurl in the gripping conclusion to the New York Timesbestselling Hush, Hush saga.Nora is more certain than ever that she is in love with Patch. Fallen angel or no, he is the one for her. Her heritage and destiny may mean they are fated to be enemies, but there is no turning her back on him. Now Nora and Patch must gather their strength to face one last, perilous trial. Old enemies return, new enemies are made, and a friend's ultimate betrayal threatens the peace Patch and Nora so desperately want. The battle lines are drawn—but which sides are they on? And in the end, are there some obstacles even love can't conquer? (Goodreads)

I have wanted to start this series since the first book came out but haven't yet. I suppose this would be a good time to start since the last book is coming out.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday (33)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.
Top Ten Bookish Confessions
  1. I don't look up words in the dictionary. When I'm into a book and I come across a word I don't know, I don't want to stop, go find a dictionary and look up the word. That would take too much time and effort. I know it is bad, but I can usually figure out what the word means in the context it is used in. I do have to say having a Kindle fire is handy because looking up a word is super easy so maybe that will help me out in the future.
  2. I don't go to the library. I haven't gone to the library since I was younger. If I went now I would probably take out books and never bring them back and they don't like that very much, so then I would be banned. I like to own my books and read them at my pace. Even when I worked in a bookstore for 3 years, I could borrow books and rarely did.
  3. I always take off the book jackets on my hard cover books when I read them. I don't like my books to get ruined, especially the nice covers.
  4. Having e-readers has not slowed me down from buying physical books at all. Some books I have the e-book and the physical book.
  5. I own hundreds of books that I have not read yet and keep buying more. Blogging has made my to be read pile way bigger than it already was.
  6. I'm awful at marking or writing down quotes I like, and I wish I was better at it. It would be easier to do on my kindle and I need to work on remembering to do it. I refuse to write in book, highlight or dog ear a page so that is part of the reason that I have a hard time with it.
  7. I used to hate reading. I guess that is a huge confession. When I was younger I used to pretend to read and then get into trouble when I was caught. Once I found books I loved, I haven't been able to stop since.
  8. I used to have 2 sets of Harry Potter Books. One set of hard cover and then a set of soft covers that I read because I didn't want my hard covers to be ruined. Now I only have the hard covers.
  9. The only required reading I did not read in high school was A Tale of Two Cities. I couldn't get past the first few pages, it put me to sleep. I'm sorry to people who love that book, it is just not for me.
  10. I tend to judge a book by it's cover. I yell at myself when I catch myself doing it because I know I shouldn't, but pretty covers totally catch my attention. I almost didn't read one of my favorite books/ series because of the cover. I got it handed to me by a friend and I was like, "I don't think so" because it looked like a trashy romance novel, not my thing. I still don't understand why the cover art was done like that because they are not trashy romance novels. Oh and the book I am talking about is Moon Called by Patricia Briggs.
Well then, those are my bookish confessions. That was fun! Are any of mine on your list? What are yours!?

Teaser Tuesday (8)


Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

In the magical underworld of Victorian London, Tessa Gray has at last found safety with the Shadowhunters. But that safety proves fleeting when rogue forces in the Clave plot to see her protector, Charlotte, replaced as head of the Institute. If Charlotte loses her position, Tessa will be out on the street—and easy prey for the mysterious Magister, who wants to use Tessa’s powers for his own dark ends. The special Collector’s First Edition will include a never-before-seen letter from Will to his family!

With the help of the handsome, self-destructive Will and the fiercely devoted Jem, Tessa discovers that the Magister’s war on the Shadowhunters is deeply personal. He blames them for a long-ago tragedy that shattered his life. To unravel the secrets of the past, the trio journeys from mist-shrouded Yorkshire to a manor house that holds untold horrors, from the slums of London to an enchanted ballroom where Tessa discovers that the truth of her parentage is more sinister than she had imagined. When they encounter a clockwork demon bearing a warning for Will, they realize that the Magister himself knows their every move—and that one of their own has betrayed them.

Tessa finds her heart drawn more and more to Jem, though her longing for Will, despite his dark moods, continues to unsettle her. But something is changing in Will—the wall he has built around himself is crumbling. Could finding the Magister free Will from his secrets and give Tessa the answers about who she is and what she was born to do?

As their dangerous search for the Magister and the truth leads the friends into peril, Tessa learns that when love and lies are mixed, they can corrupt even the purest heart.

*TEASER* "So you're suggesting we take the train up to York, meet a ninety-year-old man, leap on him, and yank out his hair? I'm sure the clave will be ecstatic."

-Clockwork Prince, Page 74.

ReAwakened by Ada Adams Excerpt



Excerpt:

“Meeting Razor” - “ReAwakened
Ada Adams

My two-story fall was cushioned by the intruder’s body. He—a vampire, I realized—groaned as I landed on top of him, forcing his body into the muddy ground. I reached for my dagger, but he was quicker. Before I had a chance to pull it out, he slipped out from underneath me, flipping me over so that he was on top. His firm, muscular body pressed tightly against mine as his hands pinned my wrists to either side of my head. His face was covered by shadows, but I could make out a mischievous smirk dancing across perfectly-shaped full lips.
“You’re quite feisty, aren’t you?” he chuckled, bending forward to examine me. Deep, charcoal eyes overflowed with amusement.
He was actually enjoying this.
“I don’t wanna hurt you,” he whispered in a deep, throaty voice. “I’m gonna release you now. Don’t do anything stupid.”
He lifted his arm, removing his right hand from my left wrist. The moment I felt some freedom, I leaped forward, attempting a left hook at his jaw. He blocked my hand, once again pushing it toward the ground.
“I said I wasn’t going to hurt you!” he growled, pinning me even further into the soft, wet earth.
“Yes, but I never said I wouldn’t hurt you,” I snapped.
He brought his face toward mine. “I’d like to see you try,” he whispered.
Challenge accepted.
I raised my head—the only part of my body that wasn't restrained by the stranger’s body—inching my lips closer to his. He tensed for a moment, his eyes searching mine, as if surprised by my sudden change in behavior. Drops of rainwater slid down his chiseled jaw, pausing briefly on his lips before they plummeted onto mine. Then, a slow, smug smile spread across his face. I felt his body relax and he leaned even closer. His breath caressed my skin as his lips drew near.
It was exactly what I needed. Summoning all my strength, I twisted my hips to the side, shooting them up and out, then launching my legs from the ground. Thrown off-balance, my captor groaned and released one of my arms to brace for the fall, giving me the perfect opportunity to reach for my dagger. In one smooth move I darted behind him, placing him in a secure headlock—the blade of my weapon aimed directly at his heart.
“Who are you?” I demanded when I was certain he couldn’t escape my grip.
“I’m a twenty-four-year-old Taurus who enjoys long walks on the beach.” Even though I couldn’t see his face, I could feel his arrogant grin.
“You have ten seconds to explain yourself,” I ordered. “And then I’m really going to hurt you.”
“Oh, come on! Can’t we get back to kissing? You can’t tease a guy like that.”
“Ten, nine…” I pressed the dagger deeper into him, nicking the leather of his jacket.
“Hey! Watch it!”
“Eight…”
“Oh, alright. You’re no fun,” he sighed. “My name is Razor.”
“What kind of a name is that?”
“It’s a nickname.”
“What kind of a nickname is that?”

“Spike, Blade, Fang—all the good, pointy objects were already taken by fictional characters. It was the best I could do.”

About Ada:

"Many people sing in the shower. I write scenes in my head and act them out."

In her career as a writer and an actress, Ada spends most of her days immersed in imaginary worlds. Much like the characters she enjoys playing and writing about, Ada is a martial artist with a Black Belt in Shotokan Karate. She is also a big proponent of lifelong learning, and has attained a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology (it aids in creating characters with unique quirks!) as well as a Masters of Science in Education.

Ada strives to bring a fresh voice and perspective to fiction. She has been writing creatively for many years, and is an editor of a global fashion/literary magazine called VEUX.

She lives in Toronto, Canada, and enjoys adventurous nature hikes with her adorable puppies Cara and Oreo. (Goodreads)


Monday, August 27, 2012

Diminishing Paige by Robert Shields [Guest Post Q&A]

Welcome, Today I have a special guest on my blog, the author Robert Shields. I'm excited to get to work with this author again. He was one of my first few author requests when I began blogging with his book  Daphne and The Mysterious Girls Secret Bathroom Society. It was a fun interesting read and I'm happy to share with you more of his work.  Thank you Robert for being on my blog today.

Guest Post for Diminishing Paige
Q. Please tell us in one sentence only, why we should read your book?
A. Because we have all been in love with a person that we thought was greater than us, but in the end you find out their only human.
Q. Who are our favorite authors?
A. As a child I loved S.E. Hinton and all her books being the Outsiders, That was then this is now, Rumble Fish, Tex etc...  I did not realize until later that the “S” stood for Sue and the “E” for Eloise.  If I had known the author was a woman from the beginning, I may have never read the books.  I do believe although it is contrary that women can write great men characters and men can write great women characters.
Q. What inspired you to become a writer?
A. I started writing at an early age.  I give the credit to my seventh grade teacher, Mrs. Gowen, because she made us write all the time.  The first thing that I ever wrote was a fan fiction piece on Star Wars where the rebels actually stop the Empire from boarding their ship in the opening scene and they kill Darth Vader.  I also started my own sports newspaper that had a whopping circulation of one when I was ten.   I have since been writing a weekly syndicated sports column in Arkansas for over fifteen years on the side.



Diminishing Paige by Robert Shields

A fool knows the price of everything and the value of nothing is the romantic theme between Paige Wheeler and Storm Lancaster. The intelligent high school expellees serendipitously meet at a garage sale and end up approaching sex in an awkward text book fashion.  They start viewing the relationship through the lens of economics as if sex was a commodity.
As they grow closer together, Paige’s promiscuous past comes to light that haunts her, which leads to complications in their relationship. Storm’s ineptness in handling the pressures of a relationship from previously attending an all-boys school causes problems while Paige finds some amusement in his immaturity. Her sterilized view of sex creates consternation for Storm over their rapport.
At their new school, they make a mutual friend in Jamal. The trio engages in pranks as their friendship with him develops. Storm’s proclivity as an adolescent male leads to poor decisions with Paige as Jamal, often the voice of reason and conscience is ignored to the detriment of the couple.
Emotions spin out of control after a frolicking camping trip with Paige’s old high-school buddies and the sexual economics experiment explodes. (Goodreads)

Buy Now:



About Robert:
Robert Shields is the bestselling author of "Scarlet Fever: A Razorback House Divided" and "The Economics of Sex" and has written the weekly "From the Bench" sports column for the last fifteen years. His novel, "Daphne and The Mysterious Girls Secret Bathroom Society" is part one of this new series. His latest novel is "Diminishing Paige." He also authored the book "Confessions of the Self Absorbed Observer: What I Saw Today." Shields is also an expert witness as an economist in the utility industry. He has testified in a multitude of dockets and other legal proceedings. He graduated at the top of his economics class at the University of Arkansas and won the award as the "Most Outstanding Student in Economics."

Friday, August 24, 2012

Bewitched by Cambria Hebert Cover Revel + Excerpt

Today I am part of the exciting Bewitched by Cambria Hebert cover reveal.  Bewitched is the next installment to the Heven and Hell series. I hope everyone likes the cover and enjoys the excerpt. Everyone loves teasers right?


Bewitched by Cambria Hebert
Expected Release Date: October 5, 2012

For years, I accepted that Heven was more popular than me. I never liked it but I lived with it. I walked in her shadow, I stood by her when no one else would. When I finally thought her spotlight was mine things began to change. She began to change. Now she hardly ever calls me back, she spends all her time with her hot new boyfriend and everyone at school thinks she’s back on top. She had it all. But apparently she wants more. She wants Cole – my boyfriend. What’s worse is that it looks like she got him. I’ve had enough and she’s going to be sorry. Why?
Because I am bewitched. (Provided by author)


Excerpt:
Working out was for jocks. Homework was for nerds and I wasn’t a jock or a nerd. Yet, here I was, sweating through my favorite Victoria Secret yoga pants and tank with a headache the size of Macy’s. Learning about my powers was hard work. I thought it would come naturally. My brain was hurting from concentrating and my muscles were actually sore from effort. I thought longingly of the potion in the green bottle that Hecate had given me—a little sip would make it that much easier to use my powers, but she took it away. Apparently, I had all the power she wanted me to have. It kind of pissed me off.
   In fact, I was feeling pretty disgruntled all around.
   I was hot, I was sweaty, my head hurt and my hair was frizzy. Not to mention I had been wearing sneakers far too long. Thank goodness Hecate was gone. I actually had been glad not to be alone after the “bone incident,” but now I was ready for some alone time. I felt stronger.
   Feeling strong plus feeling disgruntled equaled somebody was gonna get hurt.
   I was standing in my yard near the lake and I glanced up at the moon before heading inside. It was low and swollen tonight—a haunting moon. It sent a shiver up my spine. I thought briefly about going to Heven’s and treating her to a little of what she deserved. I even looked toward the driveway as I walked, but I wasn’t going anywhere looking like this.
   I went into the house and began climbing the stairs. Halfway up, I heard a noise in the kitchen and I paused. My parents were still out of town. It wasn’t the maid’s day to be here… unless she came early. Another thud in the kitchen had me spinning on the stairs to see what it was.
   “Mary?” I called out. “Is that you?” Maybe she switched her schedule around and I didn’t know about it. Maybe I could get her to make me a latté.
  No one answered, and the noises in the kitchen fell silent. I stopped at the bottom of the stairs and listened, wondering if I had heard anything at all. “Hello?” I called again, this time more unsure. This time a fine chill raced up my back.
   Suddenly being alone in this big house was scary.
   Clink, clink, clink.
   Okay, I wasn’t hearing things. Someone was there.
   I stepped off the stairs and walked through the foyer in the direction of the kitchen. I heard the cat hiss and I paused again. Clover was too lazy to hiss at a mouse. Something in my stomach turned cold and hard.
   I looked over my shoulder at the massive front doors to the alarm keypad and the distress button.
    But it was too late for pressing buttons.
    Clover burst around the corner with a hideous screech and barreled into me, hitting me in the knees and causing me to stumble. The cat didn’t even stop. I could hear his claws scraping frantically across the tiles. “What the…” I began as I straightened, but then something lurched around the corner after the cat.
     It was hideous.
     It stood about a foot taller than me with wide shoulders that were uneven looking—one was lower than the other—and a wild mane of bushy orange hair that seemed to create a cloud around its pasty, white face. Its lips were black and it had a nasty row of teeth that had seen a lot of decay. It had large purple circles around its eyes, which seemed to have no color at all.
    It looked like a psychotic clown.
    I screamed and took a step backward, and the thing grinned. I went running but it lunged and caught me around the wrist, pulling me back. I struggled, kicking out, but it was no use, his grip was too strong.
     Without any warning it reached up and snatched my silver pendant right off my neck. “Hey!” I screamed as it shoved me away. I fell onto my butt and stared up at the glittering silver heart as it dangled from the nasty clown’s hands.
    Cole had given that to me. It was the last gift he had given me before we broke up.
    Anger surged into my chest, making me hot. “Give that back.”
    Freaky Clown gave me another frightening grin and ran back into the kitchen, disappearing from sight. I ran after it, running into a solid wall of… offensiveness.

Book Trailer:



About Cambria:

Author. Blogger. Latte Sipper.
Cambria Hebert is an author who wrote her first book at the age of fifteen. It was terrible. But the passion for writing never went away so years later when she opened her laptop and started typing she worked until she wrote a book that she hopes everyone will be as excited about as she is.Cambria is obsessed with werewolves and is terrified of chickens (they are creepy!)She is an animal lover that would choose coffee over food and her favorite TV show is the Vampire Diaries (Hell-O Damon!)Please visit her blog and her author website:http://www.cambriahebert.com

Thursday, August 23, 2012

Of Time and Place by B.K. Freemont Blog Tour [Spotlight + Giveaway]


Welcome to the Of Time and Place by B.K. Freemont blog tour. Today I'm hosting a stop with a Spotlight including a guest post, Q&A and an Excerpt from the book. If that wasn't enough awesomeness in one tour stop then check out the Giveaway at the end. One copy of Of Time and Place by B.K. Freemont is being given away. B.K. Freemont welcome to my blog and thank you for fantastic Spotlight on my blog and giveaway. As always, a Big thanks to Tribute Books for having me on this tour.
Guest Post:

After reading Of Time and Place, a person may conclude that I’m a pessimist. The main characters don’t fully succeed in what they’re trying to accomplish. Life in the middle of the twenty-first century is constricted by a reduced supply of petroleum energy and an economy that never fires on all cylinders. This “new normal”, which some economists now postulate, appears to be entrenched in the nation’s psyche.

I hope the reader can look past these first impressions. A better lesson to draw from the book is that government cannot remain adrift and avoid the larger, long-term issues. I’m not advocating big government or small government, but rather effective government. Infrastructure improvements, a rational energy policy, and an overall balance between revenue and spending need to be agreed upon and adopted. People of goodwill must come together, not forced apart.

Therefore, I would prefer that Of Time and Place not be an accurate prognostication of the future but rather a lesson in what course must not be followed. Government somnambulism and “kicking the can down the road” will not enable the nation to succeed and prosper.

Early in the novel, James Lendeman, the narrator/protagonist responds to a question from his prospective boss, Kate Hastings. He states that the time for a comprehensive energy policy solution has long since passed. Kate and James’s conversation takes place in the year 2053. James suggests the time for action had been early in the century. In other words, that time is now.

Questions and Answers:


Please tell us about your current release.
 Of Time and Place is set in the middle of the 21st century. At that point most countries, including the United States, are continuing to experience a strained economic climate, in good part due to a restricted supply of petroleum energy. In these circumstances success for the individual is difficult to achieve. Kate Hastings, an iconoclastic and enigmatic rising star in the Federal Energy Department recruits James Lendeman, a capable technician, to aid her campaign to improve the energy picture for the country, but they find that results are not easily achieved.

Can you tell us about the journey that led you to write your book, Of Time and Place?
In the 1980s—shortly after the second gasoline supply crisis of 1979—I came to realize that energy supply and cost problems would place an ever-increasing burden on the country. I completed a novel bases on this theme in the 1990s. I then put the work aside. Early in this century, I realized that the petroleum energy problem was growing more acute as developing countries, such as China and India, were placing an increased strain on supplies. Added to the mix was the perpetual instability in the Mideast and other petroleum producing countries. I went back to my old, unpublished novel and completely rewrote it. The result is: Of Time and Place.

Can you tell us about the story behind your book cover?
The title of the book—Of Time and Place—refers to the various locales where the action takes place over a number of years. The cover—with fluttering calendar pages and icons of cities critical to the plot—complements the title. I suggested the overall concept to the cover designer, and she developed a wonderful cover.

What approaches have you taken to marketing your book?
Marketing is occurring on two fronts—via the Internet and through traditional modes. There is both a website (www.royaloaklit.com) along with a Face book page (OfTimeandPlace) for the book. I am seeking interviews and reviews from book bloggers. Media interviews and book reviews, and book signings are being planned.

What book on the market does yours compare to? How is your book different?
I’m unaware of any book on the market that’s similar to mine.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?
I sometimes work on multiple projects concurrently, writing a number of chapters of a book and then switching off to write an essay or short story. Perhaps that’s why it took me nearly ten years to write Of Time and Place—and that’s after having written the first version a decade earlier.

Open your book to a random page and tell us what’s happening.
Once upon a time, a cow, coming down a road, met a little boy. The boy was called baby tuckoo. Oops. Sorry. I opened the wrong book. My Freudian slip probably reflects my reluctance to summarize and/or dissect an isolated page of text. I’ve written each page—and indeed the entire novel—to the best of my ability. I would commend the work in its entirety to the reader.

Do you plan any subsequent books?
Yes. Now that Of Time and Place is published, I’ll get back to some of the other projects I’ve been working on.

Tell us what you’re reading at the moment and what you think of it.
I’m reading Majesty by C. J. Sansom. It’s an historical mystery set in the reign of Henry VIII. Having majored in history, I enjoy this genre. The author’s understanding of this period is quickly evident. He combines knowledge of the big events of the 16th century with an appreciation of the details of everyday life. Mix in an intriguing plot and you have a lively, readable work. A prospective reader should start with Dissolution, the first book in the series.



Of Time and Place by B.K. Freemont

As the global energy crisis of the 21st century wears on, James Lendeman searches for answers – both for the country and for himself.

Working in the Federal Energy Department for the iconoclastic and enigmatic Kate Hastings, James is at the center of a world of political intrigue and personal conflicts. Unsure of whether he can go along with Kate’s plans for the country (and for him), he is forced to steer his own way through a maze of personal and professional problems.

When we meet James a few years later (through an ingenious weaving of dual timelines), he is in Savannah, working as a contractor for the government and debating the merits of a flirtatious college student who lives in his boarding house.

Nimbly moving forward and backward through James’s personal timeline, Of Time and Placeleads its readers on a journey through the twists and turns of life in a kind of historical novel of the future. From a tumultuous romance and marriage to a romantic spring in Florence and the adversities along the way, James finds himself debating both his own life and the feasibility of maintaining a viable US economy in the mid-21st century.

Drawn from very real issues of global import, and playing out in some of the most storied cities in the world, Of Time and Place will leave every reader pondering the future – and the present.


Buy Now:


Excerpt:

Chapter 1


Savannah, 2060

I was returning from one of my distasteful, although fortunately infrequent, visits to Washington. In order to justify the payments I received, I needed to perform a bit of consulting work, and from time to time be in contact with a continually changing nonentity in the Federal Energy Department. I had taken the train to save money. As usual, it was running late, taking nine hours to make a six-hour trip. We did encounter a one-hour power-down in North Carolina, but, still, a three-hour delay is a three-hour delay.

Elsewhere, trains could travel at four hundred kilometers an hour. In this country, even on the faster intercity routes, two hundred was a top speed. Our trips tended to be longer; all the more reason for trains to be faster. Why had we not invested in the necessary infrastructure? Worst of all, through our outmoded rail system we were wasting energy—and this particularly bothered me.

In Savannah, the train station was located a few kilometers from downtown in a rundown area of scrub brush and litter. A poorly maintained bus carted passengers from the inter-city train station to downtown locations. I got off at Drayton Street where I needed another vehicle—a street tram—to take me south, out of the historic district.



About B.K. Freemont:
B.R. Freemont was born in New York and has lived in the Savannah area for over a decade. He holds a B.A. from Columbia and an M.A. from New York University. During his business career, Freemont filled a number of management assignments and briefly worked for government entities.

Over the years, his interests have included: astronomy, domestic and foreign travel, dog breed club administration, wine tasting, and avidly reading both fiction and non-fiction.

He is married and has a son and two daughters.

Find B.K. Freemont:

Giveaway:

Enter to win a copy of Of Time and Place by B.K. Freemont by using the rafflecopter form below. This giveaway will be running until the end of the tour, September 30th, 2012. To win you must be a follower of my blog, all other entries are optional. This giveaway is US addresses only. Once a winner is chosen through rafflecopter I will email the winner and they will have 48 hours to respond before I will have to choose a new winner. Good luck and thank you for being part of the giveaway.


Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (34)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Scent of Magic by Maria V. Snyder (Healer #2)
Expected Release Date: December 27, 2012

Hunted, Killed - Survived?

As the last Healer in the Fifteen Realms, Avery of Kazan is in a unique position: in the minds of her friends and foes alike, she no longer exists. Despite her need to prevent the megalomanical King Tohon from winning control of the Realms, Avery is also determined to find her sister and repair their estrangement. And she must do it alone, as Kerrick, her partner and sole confident, returns to Alga to summon his country into battle.

Though she should be in hiding, Avery will do whatever she can to support Tohon’s opponents. Including infiltrating a holy army, evading magic sniffers, teaching forest skills to soldiers and figuring out how to stop Tohon’s most horrible creations yet; an army of the walking dead - human and animal alike and nearly impossible to defeat.

War is coming and Avery is alone. Unless she figures out how to do the impossible ... again.(Goodreads)

I really liked the first one, looking forward to the next installment.

Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Teaser Tuesday (7)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!


Left to Love (Next Door Boys #2) by Jolene B. Perry

Leigh’s life is shaping up to be pretty perfect.

She married the father of a little boy she fell in love with. They live in a nice house, on a quiet street, and her hobby of a sewing business is keeping her busier than she ever imagined. She’s back in touch with her brother who she hasn’t seen since she was a child, and her new husband has an “in” for his dream job when he graduates in the spring.

But when her small symptoms begin to lead up to something big - she has to face the shattering realization that her cancer is back.

Leigh struggles with her new marriage, her faith, her desire to adopt the little boy who calls her mom, and the strength to keep fighting for her life. (Goodreads)

Buy Now:


*TEASER* "I'm going to get in trouble for this," he climbed onto the bed, keeping his feet over the side.
"No you're not. The girl with the needle in her arm gets whatever she wants."
-Left to Love by Jolene B. Perry

The next door boys was one of the first books I read and reviewed when I began blogging. I received it from Net Galley. I really loved it and was excited to hear she was working on another one. I'm glad I finally got to read it. I hope you like the teaser!

Wednesday, August 15, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (33)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Cast in Peril by Michelle Sagara
Expected Release Date: September 25, 2012

USUALLY DISASTER DIDN'T STRIKE QUITE SO CLOSE TO HOME...
It has been a busy few weeks for Private Kaylin Neva. In between angling for a promotion, sharing her room with the last living female Dragon and dealing with more refugees than anyone knew what to do with, the unusual egg she'd been given was ready to hatch. Actually, that turned out to be lucky, because it absorbed the energy from the bomb that went off in her quarters....

So now might be the perfect time to leave Elantra and journey to the West March with the Barrani. If not for the disappearances of citizens in the fief of Tiamaris-disappearances traced to the very Barrani Kaylin will be traveling with... (Goodreads)

I love this series, I really need to catch up on it soon so I can be ready for this book.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...