Search My Blog

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Teaser Tuesday (5)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!


The Color of Snow by Brenda Stanley


Can a troubled young girl reenter society after living in isolation?

When a beautiful 16-year-old girl named Sophie is found sequestered in a cage-like room in a rundown house in the desolate hills of Arbon Valley, Idaho, the entire community is shocked to learn she is the legendary Callidora--a baby girl who was kidnapped from her crib almost seventeen years ago and canonized in missing posters with portraits of what the fabled girl might resemble. Authorities soon learn that the cage was there to protect people from Sophie, because her biological father believes she is cursed.

Sophie is discovered after the man she knows as Papa, shoots and injures Damien, a young man who is trying to rescue her. Now, unsocialized and thrust into the world, and into a family she has never met, Sophie must decide whether she should accept her Papa’s claims that she is cursed and he was only trying to protect others, or trust the new people in her life who have their own agendas. Guided by a wise cousin, Sophie realizes that her most heartbreaking challenge is to decide if her love for Damien will destroy him like her Papa claims, or free her from past demons that haunt her mind. (Goodreads) | BUY NOW |

*TEASER* "It was he who kept the investigation going and made sure the “missing child” posters stayed at the forefront of everyone’s mind. Without his persistence, the girl’s identity may have gone unnoticed, even when she was found in such a sensational and scandalous way."
-The Color of Snow

Top Ten Tuesday (30)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.


Top Ten Characters I’d Like To Switch Places With For 24 Hours

  1. Hermione Granger from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
  2. Katy from Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout
  3. Mercy Thompson from Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
  4. Maggie from Significance by Shelly Crane
  5. Lizzie from Remembrance by Michelle Madow
  6. Kaylin from The chronicles of Elantra series (Cast in Shadow)  by Michelle Sagara
  7. Clary from The Mortal Instruments series (City of Bones) by Cassandra Clare
  8. Avry from Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder
  9. Rae from Rae of Hope by W.J. May
  10. Jewel from Spectral by Shannon Duffy
This was a fun list to make! Hermione would totally be my number one choice to trade places with for a day. She is super smart, a witch, and gets to hang out with Harry Potter! What could be better than that!? These are all some great characters that have awesome adventures, so it would be a ton of fun to trade places for a day. This was a wonderful top ten to jump back into blogging with. 

Who would you want to trade places with?

When Lightning Strikes by Brenda Novak [Spotlight]


New York Times bestselling author Brenda Novak will be launching a new small town contemporary romance series set in the fiction town of Whiskey Creek, which was founded during the gold rush so it has lots of history and great architecture. The first book, WHEN LIGHTNING STRIKES, will be released on August 28th. LIGHTNING is a classic marriage of convenience story that deals with the redemption of hero who is a box office hit. Brenda says, "The story stems from the almost universal fantasy of landing one of the biggest movie stars in Hollywood. I liked pairing a Hollywood bad boy with an unassuming and rather straight-laced heroine who actually carries the day."
WHEN WE TOUCH, a 150-page novella, is the prequel to this series and will be available digitally FREE for the month of August. You can download it wherever you buy online books or you can visit Brenda's website at www.brendanovak.com. Brenda says, "I hope you enjoy reading about Whiskey Creek as much as I’ve enjoyed creating the stories that belong in the series. I’d also like to invite you to join my mailing list so that I can let you know when the next Whiskey Creek book will be out."


When Lightning Strikes by Brenda Novak


Welcome to Whiskey Creek- Heart of the Gold Country! Simon O'Neal's causing trouble again. And it's up to Gail DeMarco to stop him. Gail DeMarco left Whiskey Creek, California, to make a name  for herself in Los Angeles. Her PR firm has accumulated a roster  of A-list clients, including the biggest box office hit of all- sexy and unpredictable Simon O'Neal. But Simon, who's just been through a turbulent divorce, is so busy self-destructing he won't listen to anything she says. She drops him from her list-and he retaliates by taking the rest of her clients with him. Desperate to save her company, Gail has to humble herself by making a deal with Simon. The one thing he wants is custody  of his son, but that's going to require a whole new image.  He needs to marry some squeaky-clean girl who'll drag him  off to some small, obscure place like Whiskey Creek.... Gail's the only one he can trust. She agrees to become his wife-reluctantly. But she isn't reluctant because he's too hard to like.  It's because he's too hard not to love!


Buy Now:






When  We Touch by Brenda Novak


You’re invited to a wedding in Whiskey Creek, Heart of the Gold Country
Unfortunately, it’s the wrong wedding. Olivia Arnold is arranging the festivities—and it’s the hardest thing she’s ever done. Because she should be marrying Kyle Houseman. They were together for more than a year…. But her jealous sister, Noelle, stole him away—and now she’s pregnant.
All their friends in Whiskey Creek know as well as Olivia does that Kyle’s making a mistake. His stepbrother, Brandon, knows it, too. But Kyle’s determined to go through with it, for his child’s sake.
Olivia’s devastated, but surprisingly Brandon—the black sheep of the family—is there to provide comfort and consolation. The intensity between them, both physical and emotional, shows Olivia that maybe Kyle wasn’t the right man for her…
But is Brandon?

About Brenda:
It was a shocking experience that jump-started Brenda Novak’s bestselling author career.

“I caught my day-care provider drugging my children with cough syrup and Tylenol to get them to sleep while I was away,” Brenda says. “It was then that I decided that I needed to do something from home.”

However, writing was the last profession she expected to undertake. In fact, Brenda swears she didn’t have a creative bone in her body. In school, math and science were her best subjects, and when it came time to pick a major in college, she chose business.

Abandoning her academic scholarship to Brigham Young University at the age of 20 in order to get married and start a family, Brenda dabbled in commercial real estate, then became a loan officer.

“When I first got the idea to become a novelist, it took me five years to teach myself the craft and finish my first book,” Brenda admits. “I learned how to write by reading what others have written. The best advice for any would-be author: read, read, read….”

Brenda sold her first book, and the rest is history. Many of her novels have won or placed in contests such as the National Reader's Choice, the Bookseller's Best, the Write Touch, the Award of Excellence and the Beacon Award for Published Authors.

Brenda and her husband, Ted, live in Sacramento and are the proud parents of five children—three girls and two boys. She juggles her writing career with her children’s softball and soccer games, field trips, carpool runs and homework sessions.

When she’s not spending time with her family or writing, Brenda is usually working on her annual fundraiser for diabetes research—an on-line auction held at her website May 1st – May 31st. Her youngest son, Thad, has diabetes, and Brenda is determined to help him and others like him. She also enjoys traveling, watching sporting events and biking--she rides an amazing 20 miles every day! (goodreads)

Find Brenda:

Friday, July 27, 2012

Charlie: A Love Story by Barbara Lampert Blog Tour [Review]


Today I am hosting a stop on the Charlie: A  Love Story blog tour. I wrote a review for this tour and am happy to have Barbra and Charlie on my blog today. Dog lovers will want to read this beautiful story. I hope you all enjoy the post. Thank you Tribute Books for having me on this tour today, it is always a pleasure working with you!


Charlie: A Love Story by Barbara Lampert
★★★☆☆

Charlie was the perfect dog, loving, devoted and Barbara’s best friend. Barbara loved dogs but the connection she had with Charlie was deeper and more intimate than the connection she had with any of her other dogs. When Charlie was eleven years old, he got really sick but fought to stay alive. Charlie endured a lot but because of his love for life and Barbara, he never gave up. 



This was a heartfelt book that evoked some strong emotions, especially being a dog owner. The connection that the author had with Charlie and her other dogs, were beautiful and unique. I have never had a connection with an animal like that. Her dogs were like children to her; especially Charlie and she treated them more like humans than dogs. I thought that was really special and am glad animals can have people love them and take care of them like that when some are not that lucky.

I’m honestly not a non-fiction reader so this book was a little more difficult for me to get into reading, which is not the books fault. I like animals and thought I would try something a little different from my traditional read when I was asked to review it.  The story was written in journal entries, which also took a while for me to get used to. It was well written and an honest account of the love between Charlie and the author who also struggled to make the right choices for Charlie.

It was a beautiful story that pulled at the heartstrings and people who love dogs and are non-fiction readers will love this book.

I received this book from Tribute Books for review.

Buy Now:




About Barbara:

Barbara Lampert is a Marriage and Family Therapist specializing in relationships. She’s been in private practice in Brentwood, California for over twenty years. She considers her work a calling and loves what she does. She has a doctorate in medical sociology and two master’s degrees – one in psychology and one in sociology.

Barbara has adored dogs her whole life. They’re her passion! She considers them the magic on the planet. Barbara has had dogs most of her life and hopes to have at least one by her side always. She notes that for a lot of people, their dogs are their best friends. She loves helping people know that’s ok – that a soul-satisfying relationship may be found with any being and needs to be treasured.

Besides her love of dogs, Barbara is an avid gardener and finds herself gardening in much of her spare time. She sees her garden as a work of art. She loves being in nature – the miracle of growth, the ever-changing landscape, its beauty.

Today Barbara lives happily in Malibu, California with her husband David (married twenty-eight years!) and their six-year-old Golden Retriever, Harry.

Barbara hopes that Charlie: A Love Story will be a tribute not only to a magnificent dog but to all dogs everywhere.

Find Barbara:

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Sorry for being MIA



I wanted to do a post saying I’m sorry for disappearing for a couple of weeks on all of my readers. I appreciate everyone’s support and value all of my followers. Last week I had a lot going on and have been working on getting a new job. I didn’t end up having time to do any features or catch up on reviews but I had planned to be on top of things this week. Then events happened and as you can see that didn’t happen either. On Sunday I began having allergic reactions to something I either touched or ate, I’m still not positive. I ended up going to the hospital on Monday but I need to see an allergist. I had another reaction that night, so I think it is something I’m touching in my apartment. I have also been fighting with my doctor’s office to get a referral to an allergist. I have not been well at all this week and have been struggling to finish an author request review for a blog tour on time. I just barely managed to do that. My head has been so fogged up I haven’t been able to concentrate on reading or much of anything else recently. I’m feeling a little better and haven’t had a reaction in a couple of days and am hoping to avoid having any more. I wanted to tell you all what is going on and I hope to start getting back into things next week. If I still don’t well this is probably what I am battling. Thank you all for sticking with me and I hope to be back blogging on a regular basis again.

~Christie

Friday, July 13, 2012

Satan's Chamber by Molly Best Tinsley and Karetta HubbardBlog Tour [Guest Post]


Today I am part of the Satan's Chamber by Molly best Tinsley and Karetta Hubbard blog tour and am happy to welcome them both on my blog. They have written a guest post to share with you and I hope you all enjoy it! Thank you for being on my blog today Molly and Karetta!

Satan's Chamber by Molly Best Tinsley and Karetta Hubbard


Junior CIA operative Victoria Pierce is posted to Khartoum, Sudan, where her father vanished five years before. Obsessed with solving the mystery of his disappearance, she uncovers a horrific plot that threatens to ignite World War III. A fast-paced spy thriller, Satan's Chambershuttles between Washington, DC, and war-torn Sudan, geo-political intrigue and ancient mysticism. It introduces a rich array of memorable characters, from Bart Wilkins, the bumbling but buff young supply officer at the Embassy, to Kendacke, one-eyed descendant of the female pharaohs, to Adam Marshall, one of the richest and most ruthless men in the world.


Buy Now:


Guest Post:


We are committed to expanding opportunities for women in any way we can, and crafting a spy thriller around a female protagonist, Victoria “Tory” Pierce, seemed one way to call traditional boundaries into question.   Notice that we quite deliberately introduce then dispose of the old James Bond spy-type in the prologue.  He happens to be Tory’s father who vanishes mysteriously from the streets of Khartoum, Sudan.   His unknown fate remains at the center of her personal quest when she is assigned there five years later.  And she has to come to terms with his heroic image before she can tap into her own power.


We had in mind one big difference between the traditional male spy and Tory.  Although she is physically phenomenal (she holds the Ivy League record for high hurdles) and off the charts book smart, she is also human.  She is in over her head in Sudan—a posting that came out of the blue—and her learning curve is steep.  She makes mistakes in her over-eagerness; when she gets hit, she bruises; shedding blood disturbs her; she’s naïve about men.   Which is all to say, she has an internal arc in the novel that parallels the external action.  She doesn’t just run around kicking butt, she also grows from an immature loner, who doesn’t know where to place her trust, to a proficient team player, finally accomplishing a rescue worthy of her father and averting an horrific sequence of events that might have triggered war on a global scale.


It’s worth noting that Tory shares the stage in Satan’s Chamber with two other extraordinary women.  Her godmother and mentor, Maud Olson, is the first female Director of Intelligence at the Agency, having cannily made her way through a sexist bureaucracy with her integrity intact.  From her position stateside, she is connecting the dots to identify U. S. involvement in these events.  Then there is the Sudanese populist leader, Kendacke, named for her ancestor, an ancient female pharaoh who rallied the Nubians to beat back their Egyptian oppressors.  Today, this modern Kendacke pursues a similar mission—to unite the disparate tribes of Sudan in order to resist their own homicidal government, which is intent on wiping them out in order to access the oil deposits lying under their land.   

About Molly Best Tinsley:
Air Force brat Molly Best Tinsley taught on the civilian faculty at the United States Naval Academy for twenty years and is the institution’s first professor emerita. Author of My Life with Darwin (Houghton Mifflin) and Throwing Knives (Ohio State University Press), she also co-authored Satan’s Chamber (Fuze Publishing) and the textbook, The Creative Process (St. Martin’s). Her fiction has earned two fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Sandstone Prize, and the Oregon Book Award. Her plays have been read and produced nationwide. She lives in Oregon, where she divides her time between Ashland and Portland.

About Karetta Hubbard:
As a businesswoman and entrepreneur, Karetta Hubbard has more than twenty-five years of experience in consulting, strategic management, and organizational change for companies throughout the U.S., Canada, Europe, and Japan. Having recently turned to literary endeavors, Ms. Hubbard credits her five grandchildren as her inspiration and encouragement to put pen to paper.

As an active member of the Washington, DC community, Ms. Hubbard has held appointments at the Small Business Advisory Council (SBA), the Tyson Business and Professional Women Foundation (BPW), and the Fairfax County Democratic Committee. Ms. Hubbard attended the University of Virginia and received her B.A. degree from George Mason University. She also attended Catholic University’s Graduate School in Social Work. 

Wednesday, July 11, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (30)

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: The Legacies by Pittacus Lore


This Book Includes:
Six's Legacy
Nine's Legacy
The Fallen Legacies (One's Legacy, Second's Legacy, and Third's Legacy)

Six's Legacy:
Number Six—when John meets her in I Am Number Four she’s strong, powerful, and ready to fight. But who is she? Where has she been living? How has she been training? When did she develop her legacies? And how does she know so much about the Mogadorians?

In I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: Six’s Legacy, discover the story behind Six. Before Paradise, Ohio, before John Smith, Six was traveling through West Texas with her CÊpan, Katarina. What happened there would change Six forever….

Nine's Legacy:
Number Nine—when John frees him from his cell in the power of six, he’s ferocious, reckless, and ready to fight back. But being held captive changes a person—even a Lorien. See what Nine was like before his capture, and read about his dramatic escape from his point of view.

In I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: Nine’s Legacy, discover the story behind Nine. Before meeting John Smith, aka Number Four, before being held prisoner, Nine was hunting down Mogadorians in Chicago with his CÊpan, Sandor. What happened there would change Nine forever...

The Fallen Legacies:
Before Number Four, there were One, Two, and Three. Until now we've only known that the Mogadorians caught Number One in Malaysia. Number Two in England. And Number Three in Kenya. But all of that is about to change. . . .

In i am number four: the lost files: the fallen legacies, you'll learn the true story behind these ill-fated members of the Garde. Before they were murdered by the Mogadorians, before Number Four was next, they were all just kids on an alien planet called Earth—discovering their powers, trying to stay hidden, and running for their lives. (Goodreads)

I just found this and it sounds good. I loved I am Number Four and still need to read The Power of Six and I think this will be a nice companion.

Foreign Identity by Becca Campbell Blog Tour [Review]


Welcome to the Foreign Identity by Becca Campbell blog tour! Today I am hosting Becca on my blog with a review of her book. I am very happy to be part of this tour, especially after finishing this exciting novel. Becca is a wonderful author, and after reading Foreign Identity I am excited to read more of her work in the future. I hope everyone will give her a big welcome and check out her book.


Foreign Identity by Becca J. Campbell
★★★★☆

When the Protagonist’s woke up locked in a dungeon, they had no memory of who they were. They had to work together to escape, which gave them the names Jax and Kel. They navigated their way through a labyrinth of different rooms until they escaped outside. With no knowledge of where they were or how to get home, they adapted to their situation and stayed together for survival. Jax scoured for a way out. With his incredible memory he was able to map the area. He wanted to find out who he and Kel were and why they were captured. The only times they figured things out about themselves was when they stumbled upon things that felt familiar, like the tug they felt towards each other.



Foreign Identity was a fantastic, fast-paced novel; I was surprised when I turned the last page that I had finished the entire book so fast. I had expected it to take me longer when I saw how many pages it was, but that was not the case. I wanted to find out what would happen next, which kept me reading without putting the book down. I always love it when a book can do that.



The author has a fluid writing style making it an easy, enjoyable read. She creates an intriguing story and world that you will get lost in. She creates lifelike characters that you will identify with, which I liked. I also love that she wrote the story with both Jax and Kel’s points of view. I usually enjoy being able to see what the two prominent, and, in this case, two main, characters are thinking. I feel like I get to know both of them on a more personal level this way.



This book was filled with adventure, mystery, science fiction, and a little romance. It was a perfectly balanced combination. Extremely enjoyable. It was different than what I typically read, which made me even more excited that I liked it so much. I would recommend it to anyone who would like to read an interesting adventure.

I received this book from the author for review.


Buy Now:



The Kindle E-Book is only $0.99!
If you purchased a copy of Foreign Identity (any format) between the dates of July 10th, 2012 and July 25th, 2012 OR at any time prior, you are eligible for this free ebook download of Not the Norm. This offer ends at midnight CST on July 25th, 2012.

To get your free copy of Not the Norm, just fill out the short form here.
 


Not The Norm by Becca Campbell


Eden has a dangerous secret.

In a world where GenEns (enhanced humans) are the norm, her own ability is flawed. If anyone found out about the glitch in her genetic code, she’d be deemed a sub-norm, as one unfit to exist in the human race. Her certain fate would be extermination.

She always thought keeping her defect secret was her biggest struggle. That concern vanishes when her life is put in danger. Suddenly, fighting back is her only option, and she’s completely unprepared.

Her only chance for survival is by wielding her damaged power. But fear and painful memories threaten to hold her back. What will happen to her if she unleashes the terror within? (Goodreads)


Giveaway:
For the blog tour the author is doing a giveaway for an autographed copy of Foreign Identity! Use the rafflecopter form at the end of this post to enter.


About Becca:


An avid lover of stories that tiptoe the line between fantasy and reality (even when they plunge off one side or the other), Becca J. Campbell looks for new angles on bridging the gap between the two. She holds a special place in her heart for any story that involves superpowers or time travel. Her passion is defying the limits of her own creativity.

Becca's journey into writing began as many of her other creative endeavors do - by daring herself to try something new. The question "what if I wrote a novel?" and some hastily scribbled notes on a church handout were the inspirations that jump-started her first book. Since then, she has written three additional novels and several shorter works.

As the wife of a musician and mother of three young boys, Becca's life is never dull. Whether it is writing, painting or knitting, she enjoys making stuff that wasn't there before. You can find her blog, Inspiration for Creation, at http://www.beccajcampbell.com. (Goodreads)




Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Teaser Tuesday (4)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along!




Charlie: A Love Story by Barbara Lampert


Charlie: A Love Story tells of the beautiful love between Charlie, a Golden Retriever, and the author, Barbara Lampert. It takes place in Malibu, California. When Charlie turned eleven years old and started having some health problems, a journal Barbara was keeping about her garden quickly became mostly about Charlie.

Charlie: A Love Story is an intimate look at an incredible connection between a canine and a human. And as a psychotherapist who specializes in relationships, Barbara brings that sensibility and understanding to Charlie’s story as well.

Charlie was Barbara’s loyal confidante and best friend. He was indomitable, had a zest for life and an uncanny emotional intelligence. As Barbara says in her book:

“Charlie’s a big dog, not just physically but in every way. He has a big heart, a big smile, lots of courage, a big appetite, and a great, big, generous spirit. Charlie’s the emotional core of our family, the most solid being I have ever known, and wise beyond his years. Charlie and me. It’s a great love affair, a once-in-a-lifetime connection.”

Charlie: A Love Story is about devotion, joy, loss, and renewal, about never giving up or giving in. But mostly it’s about an extraordinary dog and an extraordinary relationship.

*Teaser* "I will forge ahead with my life, just like Charlie. And just like Charlie, I will never give in.

-Charlie: A Love Story, Page 49.

Top Ten Tuesday (29)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.


Top Ten Books Books I Just HAD To Buy... But Are Still Sitting On My Bookshelf



  1. The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore
  2. A Beautiful Evil by Kelly Keaton
  3. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
  4. Everlasting by Elizabeth Chandler
  5. Hourglass by Claudia Gray
  6. The Den of Shadows quartet by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
  7. Every Dead Thing by John Connolly
  8. Cast in Silence by Michelle Sagara
  9. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
  10. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows
I still really want to read all of these, but just haven't had the time. I also have way more than ten that qualify for this post. I look forward to finding time to read all of these and more.

Monday, July 9, 2012

The Mother Daughter Show by Natalie Wexler Blog Tour [Guest Post]


Welcome! Today I am a stop on the Mother Daughter Show blog tour. For my stop the author has provided a guest post for you all to enjoy. I liked reading this post and it made me more interested in the book which sounds like a meaningful read. Welcome Natalie, and thank you for being on my blog today!

Christie’s Book Reviews: What if Hillary Clinton, Laura Bush and Michelle Obama were the mothers featured in your book - how would they have handled things?

When I started out to write The Mother Daughter Show, I was involved in an annual end-of-the-year musical revue at my kids’ school, Sidwell Friends in Washington DC, which went by the same name.

The concept of the show sounded sweet: take a bunch of mothers and ask them to write funny lyrics to popular songs, and then sing and dance before an audience of their graduating senior daughters. But even before I got involved, I had heard that year after year, problems arose among the mothers: cliques were formed, backs were stabbed, tears were shed.

And soon after the planning began the year my daughter was a senior, I began to see that this year would be no exception. But I could also see that it wasn’t necessarily because of the particular individuals who happened to be involved. After all, problems were arising year after year. So it seemed to me there was something about the situation that was causing those problems.

The specifics vary from year to year, but basically you have a group of intelligent, high-powered women with strong, and sometimes conflicting, opinions. They’re writing songs that are supposed to be funny, but not all of them have the same sense of humor. And they’re being asked to stand up and perform these songs in front of their teenage daughters—maybe the scariest audience imaginable. Their worst nightmare? That their daughters won’t laugh.

So you have some mothers rejecting things other mothers have written, and having your writing rejected can be painful. And some mothers may also be hearing that their jokes aren’t funny. But the people who are telling them these things feel they have to, because the last thing any of them wants is to look totally clueless in front of their daughters (who probably think their mothers are pretty clueless to begin with).

So what would some real First Ladies do in this situation? Well, one of them—Hillary Clintn—was actually in a real Mother-Daughter Show, back when Chelsea was a senior at Sidwell. I’d like to think that her powers of diplomacy (which may have been honed a bit during her tenure as Secretary of State) would serve her well. But while she apparently was a good sport about appearing in the show, she didn’t have the time or the inclination to get involved in the really contentious part of the show—the planning. And I’m sure that would be true of any First Lady.

Although Michelle Obama’s daughters are both students at Sidwell, she won’t have her chance to participate in a Mother Daughter Show—the school ended the tradition as of this year.

But I would hope that any First Lady would have the wisdom and perspective that my characters ultimately achieve and realize that the show isn’t what’s important. What IS important is recognizing that despite the tension and conflict that often accompany the teenage years, the bonds between mothers and daughters are strong and lasting—even if it sometimes takes a crisis to make them visible.


The Mother Daughter Show by Natalie Wexler


At Barton Friends a D.C. prep school so elite its parent body includes the President and First Lady - three mothers have thrown themselves into organizing the annual musical revue. Will its Machiavellian intrigue somehow enable them to reconnect with their graduating daughters, who are fast spinning out of control? By turns hilarious and poignant, The Mother Daughter Show will appeal to anyone who's ever had a daughter - and anyone who's ever been one. (Goodreads)



Buy Now:




About Natalie:
Natalie Wexler is the author of The Mother Daughter Show (Fuze Publishing 2011) and an award-winning historical novel, A More Obedient Wife. She is a journalist and essayist whose work has appeared in the Washington Post Magazine, the American Scholar, the Gettysburg Review, and other publications, and she is a reviewer for the Washington Independent Review of Books. She has also worked as a temporary secretary, a newspaper reporter, a Supreme Court law clerk, a legal historian, and (briefly) an actual lawyer. She lives in Washington, D.C., with her husband.

Find Natalie:


Friday, July 6, 2012

TGIF (22)

TGIF at GReads- This Feature is for Fridays to re-cap the week's post & to answer a question from GReads.


Question: Comfort Reads: Which books do you go to for comfort & familiarity?  Is there a type of book you seek out when you're needing that extra bit of comfort in your life?


For comfort reads I just read some of my favorite books/ series'. I love to get lost in the Mercy Thomson series by Patricia Briggs. Now that I have read all of the books that are out, I have begun listening to them in audio, which is fun and easy to relax to.


Another go to for me is, anything by Lurlene McDaniel. Her books are fast reads and I absolutely love them, making them comfort reads for me.


What you may have missed on my blog this week:


Features:

Reviews:

Thursday, July 5, 2012

ReAwakened by Ada Adams Cover Reveal!

Today I am excited to be a part of the ReAwakened by Ada Adams cover reveal. I recently read the first book in the series, ReVamped and loved it and was very excited to find out that it would be a series. When I saw the sign up form to be a part of the cover reveal, I pounced on the opportunity. I hope you all love the cover as much as I do! I think it is gorgeous, just like the cover of the first one. If you haven't read ReVamped, be sure to check it out before the next book comes out. My review will be coming soon, it is a fun fresh vampire novel that has me excited for more.

Ada will also be doing an hour long live chat on twitter at 5:00pm EST time today, so be sure to check it out! Use the hashtag #ReVampedChat to join in. She will be talking about everything Angel Creek (ReVamped series). If you have questions or just want to know more join the party at 5!

Without further ado, here is the gorgeous ReAwakened cover!

ReAwakened Theme: Blood
Cover Designer: Juliana Kolesova @ www.julianakolesova.com
Expected Release Date: Fall 2012

ReVamped by Ada Adams


A simple mission turned deadly.

Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered life within the confines of her father’s presidential headquarters. Upon being sent on a mission to revamp four goofy misfits into guardians of a peaceful little town of Angel Creek, Dawn believes that all her dreams have finally come true. What starts off as a simple task, turns into something unexpected, changing Dawn’s life forever and leading the action-loving, thrill-seeking vampire teen on a path of mystery, danger and intrigue.

When a human girl is kidnapped by a group of rogue vamps, Dawn discovers that there is more going on in Angel Creek than meets the eye. And it all connects to Ethan, the cute newcomer who seems too perfect to be true, Sebastian, the mysterious vampire with a turbulent past, and even Dawn herself. Dawn must not only succeed in revamping the troubled recruits, but must also prevent the vampire race from being overtaken by a malevolent villain who has a strange and obsessive fascination with her. As threat escalates, romance blooms, and ghosts from her past begin to surface, Dawn is sure of only one thing: her life will never be the same. (Goodreads)

Find ReVamped:
About the Author:

"Many people sing in the shower. I write scenes in my head and act them out."

At age five, Ada read her first chapter book. Ever since that moment, she developed an intense passion for the stories and characters found within the pages of literature.

In her career as an actress and a writer, Ada currently spends most of her days immersed in imaginary worlds. Much like the characters she enjoys playing and writing about, Ada is a martial artist with a Black Belt in Shotokan Karate. She is also a big proponent of lifelong learning, and has attained a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology (it aids in creating characters with unique quirks!) as well as a Masters of Science in Education.

Ada strives to bring a fresh voice and perspective to fiction. She has been writing creatively for many years, and is an editor of a global fashion/literary magazine called VEUX. "ReVamped" is her debut novel.

She lives in Toronto, Canada, and enjoys adventurous nature hikes with her adorable puppies Cara and Oreo. (Goodreads)

Find Ada:

Wednesday, July 4, 2012

Paradise 21 by Aubrie Dionne Review


Paradise 21 by Aubrie Dionne
★★★★☆

Earth had been unlivable for some time, and Aries had grown up on a spaceship called the New Dawn. To keep their race populated, people were matched together to wed and have children. Aries did not like the life partner chosen for her or the caged-in space ship. Aries decided to take her life into her own hands.  She escaped onto a desert planet that could sustain life and that she had believed to be uninhabited by humans... until Striker had found her.

Striker was a pirate who was marooned on the planet by his crew members and Aries was the first human he had seen in years.  They worked together to repair an old alien ship to escape the desert planet and  find another planet more like earth in hopes to leave before the New Dawn came back for Aries.


This book was a different read for me and was more on the sci-fi side. It took me a while to get into it since it was a different world, but I ended up really enjoying it. It was a major, fast-paced, action-packed adventure. I read someone’s comment stating that it read like a movie and I agree. This could be made into a great movie with all of the action in it. There wasn’t room for dull moments.

I liked that this book had multiple point of views, some of them I probably could have done without, but that is most likely because I liked the other characters better and just wanted to be focused on them -  especially Striker, because he was awesome.

The author created a wonderful adventure and I loved how there was always something going on. She knew how to keep me interested. It was a fun, well-written book. I look forward to continuing this series when I have more time.

I received this book from the author for review.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...