Search My Blog

Thursday, April 26, 2012

Masquerade Read Along: Chapters 24-31


Chapters 24-31
Final discussion questions
1. Heven develops a new “supernatural power”. She remarks that it isn’t that exciting of a power. Is this a power you would like to have, if not what kind of supernatural power would you like to have?
The power or auras would probably drive me nuts especially if I couldn't turn it off.  I'm not entirely sure what kind of power I would like, maybe to read minds or something like that.
2. Which character do you think makes the biggest internal change throughout the course of this book?  Is there a situation in your life that you can reflect back on as an experience that changed your life for the better?
I think Heven probably had the biggest internal change. It wasn't huge but she did begin to have more courage and hid less as time went on. She also learned what it meant to love someone and care about them more than herself.
3. Who is your favorite character and why?
Sam for the most part because he does everything he can to protect Heven. He also thinks she is beautiful with or without the scars and wasn't embarrassed to be with her like others may have.
4. When the book ends the reader has an idea of what the next book will involve. Do you think the book ended in the appropriate place? 
The end was a little weird but I think it ended in a good spot. 
5. Do you have any predictions for the next book in the series, Charade?
I think that we will find out a lot more about Sam's brother and whether Heven is right to be apprehensive about him. We will also probably find out more about Heven's destiny and possibly more powers she will acquire. I don't have any specific expectations or scenes I'm looking for.
6. Did you enjoy participating in this read along?  Will you join in future read alongs? 
Yes because it made me think more critically about the book and also made me think about things I wouldn't have without having to answer the questions.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (20)



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Fated by Alyson Noel
Expected Release Date: May 22, 2012


The first book in a magnificent new series about a girl who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead by #1 New York Times bestselling author Alyson Noël.

Lately strange things have been happening to Daire Santos. Animals follow her, crows mock her, and glowing people appear out of nowhere. Worried that Daire is having a nervous breakdown, her mother packs her off to stay in the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico with a grandmother she’s never met.

There she crosses paths with Dace, a gorgeous guy with unearthly blue eyes who she’s encountered before...but only in her dreams. And she’ll get to know her grandmother—a woman who recognizes Daire’s bizarre episodes for what they are. A call to her true destiny as a Soul Seeker, one who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead. Her grandmother immediately begins teaching her to harness her powers—but it’s an art that must be mastered quickly. Because Dace’s brother is an evil shape-shifter who’s out to steal her powers. Now Daire must embrace her fate as a Soul Seeker and find out if Dace is one guy she’s meant to be with...or if he’s allied with the enemy she’s destined to destroy.
(Goodreads)

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday (20)



Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.
Top 10 All Time Favorite Characters in Books

Christie's Choices
  1. Four from Divergent by veronica Roth
  2. Alex from Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  3. Caleb from Significance by Shelly Crane
  4. Mercy from Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
  5. Katniss from The Hunger Games by Nancy Collins
  6. Drew from Remembrance by Michelle Madow
  7. Jem from Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
  8. Jace from City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  9. Rae from Rae of Hope by W.J. May
  10. Logan from the Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks

Katie's Choices
  1. Charles Cornick - Alpha and Omega Series, Patricia Briggs
  2. Samuel Cornick – Mercy Thompson Novels , Patricia Briggs
  3. Talia – A kiss in Time, Alex Flinn
  4. Madison (Maddi) Moss – The Heir Trilogy, Cinda Williams Chima
  5. Kate Warren – Old Magic, Marianne Curley
  6. Jace Wayland/Herondale/Lightwood – Mortal Instruments Series, Cassandra Clare
  7. Ari – Darkness becomes Her, Kelly Keaton
  8. Wolf – The Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series – Michelle Paver
  9. Nick Gautier – The Chronicles of Nick, Sherrilyn Kenyon
  10. Mercedes (Mercy) Thompson – The Mercy Thompson Novels, Patricia Briggs

Friday, April 20, 2012

TGIF (14)



TGIF at GReads- This Feature is for Fridays to re-cap the week's post & to answer a question from GReads.



Question: Book Blogger Influences: Has there been a particular  book blogger who's influenced what you read?Share with us a review/book blog that convinced you to pick up a certain book.

One of the most influential bloggers in my life is Michele/ Cheles Bells from A Belle's Tales. I love talking books with Michele and she got me to read Delirium by Lauren Oliver and Divergent by Veronica Roth and I loved both of them. Michele writes beautiful reviews and is a pleasure to talk to. She has also got me interested in some other books she has reviewed but I have not had time to read them yet.


Two other bloggers I love to talk to are, Mickey from I'm A Book Shark and Shellie from Creative Reads. They both write awesome reviews and are fantastic to talk with. Shellie has sent me an Arc she really enjoyed which I also haven't had a chance to read but it sounds really good an I trust her judgement! I hope I get to meet all three of these awesome bloggers in person some day!

What you may have missed on my blog this week:

Features:

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Masquerade Read Along: Chapters 16-24


Chapters 16-24
5 Discussion Questions
1. Heven’s mother has definite ideas about Heven and her scars – what they mean – and their relationship is strained. Do you think their relationship can be saved?


I'm not sure, Heven's mom is a bit ridiculous and I can't believe she thinks her daughter is evil. Her mom needs to be willing to listen but instead she is stubborn and harsh. I think it is good Heven can go to her grandmother's house to get away. Maybe spending some time apart will give them time to work thought things.
 2. Sam tells Heven about how he came to be living on his own, how his parents kicked him out after he became what he is. He doesn’t seem angry though, he seems to accept it. Would you be angry? Do you think he should be?


I think it is good that Sam isn't angry anymore. I would be extremely angry and probably hold that anger. That isn't a good thing but it is something I tend to do. Anger is tiring and after a certain amount of time you should just let it go because its wasting your time and energy. I'll be the first to say this is easier said than done, that is why I admire that sam has accepted it and moved on.
 3. During these chapters, Heven and Sam visit the Inbetween and meet Airis (aka The Hope). Were you surprised by this series of events? Do you think a place like the InBetween really exists?


I was surprised that Heven died but of course she had to come back to life. I'm not sure what I believe about death and heaven and InBetween places. I guess to me the InBetween place could be when you are close to death or giving up the fight, I'm not sure about after you already die especially being able to bring someone back to life unless its by the hands of medics using measures like the paddles, so in that case I suppose they are technically dead and could be in that InBetween place. I really have no idea :-p
 4. When Heven’s scars are no longer a part of her and she says “she no longer recognizes herself” – do you think that the absence of her scar will change her once more?


I don't think she will ever go back to how she was before but I think things might change for her as she gets used to not having the scar anymore.
 5. Gran is very accepting of Heven and of Sam. Do you think that she understands more – knows more than she lets on about Heven’s life or do you think her love is just unconditional?
I never thought about Gran possibly knowing about Heven's destiny, so I had just assumed she just loved her unconditionally. Seeing that question I think it could be a possibility she knows more than she lets on. I'm really not sure and on the edge now that I read this question and have that idea in my head. Either way I think Gran is a loving person.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (19)



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.




The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa
Expected Release Date: April 24, 2012


In a future world, Vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them. The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked—and given the ultimate choice. Die… or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend—a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn't easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what—and who—is worth dying for.(Goodreads)



My fantastic blogging friend Michele from A Belle's Tales reviewed this book and it sounds fantastic. I look forward to reading it!

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday (19)



Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.


Top Ten Tips For New (Book) Bloggers

I'm still pretty new myself but I will try to think of helpful encouraging tips. I began blogging around november and I feel like I have been doing it so much longer. I love the blogging world and it has been a great experience for me.
  1. Be ready for a lot of work if you want a good solid blog. Blogging has been like a full-time job for me but it is really rewarding and I love it.
  2. Do not ever plagiarize/ steal reviews and thoughts from other blogs. You will get caught and look really bad as a blogger.
  3. Use social networks to reach more followers such as a facebook page and twitter. Twitter is great and quick and easy to use. There are other networks you can use but I use twitter and facebook the most.
  4. Don't be afraid to ask for help from other bloggers. Most of us are happy to help anyway we can. I had to ask for help along the way and sometimes still do and then I have also been the person helping. The blogging world can be intimidating but fellow bloggers can help you make it easier.
  5. Blog for the right reasons! If you are only doing it to get free books then it won't be fun for you. Blog because you love books and love talking and sharing books with others. Trust me the free books will come. I never expected to get the amount of author requests that I have been getting.
  6. Participate in Features. They are a lot of fun and it helps other bloggers find out about your blog and you can find some new blogs also. Visit other features and leave comments and they will be more likely to visit you. I participate in Top Ten Tuesday (obviously), Tell Me Something Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday and In My Mailbox.
  7. Visit blogs and stay connected. I'm guilty at being very bad at this lately because I have been so busy with school. I can't wait for summer so I have more time to venture outside of my blog more again. One of the best things about blogging is the people and I have met and become friends with.
  8. Host Giveaways and join giveaway hops. It is another great way to get more traffic to your blog. Giveaways are fun and who isn't excited about winning a free book? Hops are great because if you participate you are put on a list of giveaways that is easier to find. Hops can reach more people than a normal giveaway does.
  9. Be willing to branch out from your normal reading choices. Blogging is great to discover new books. I think a lot of us have the problem  that we like to stay in our reading comfort zone and then we miss out on some awesome books. Try something new! My first author request was something completely different than I would normally read but I was so excited about my first author request that I was like yah why not! I ended up really enjoying the book.
  10. Just have fun with it! Blogging should be fun if it is not then you should stop or find a way to make it fun again.

Monday, April 16, 2012

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver Review


Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver
★★★★★
Lena had escaped into the wilds and was saved by a girl named Raven. She took Lena into the homestead and helped her recover and then, taught her the ways of the wilds. Lena had to learn an entirely new way of living as she learned to let go of her old life. The only guy she had ever been around was Alex, and now, she lived with “uncured” men, which was a crime outside of the wilds. Being “uncured” meant that they hadn’t received the procedure from the government to eradicate love. When you turned eighteen, you were required to receive the procedure and a match for who you would marry, either soon, or after college. Lena and everyone from the homestead traveled to New York when it got colder, which changed Lena’s life even more.
I don’t know how the author does it, but she is amazing. This book broke my heart, while I clutched it, needing more. I couldn’t stop reading it, and when I finished, I was screaming at it. The author has a special talent of ending the book in a way that drives you nuts while contemplating murder to get your hands on the next book in the series. Waiting another year for the next book - not an option. The author has a fantastic way with words that has kept me thinking about the book well after I finished it.
I loved Pandemonium just as much as Delirium, if not more, which surprised me. I was scared to read Pandemonium after hearing bits and pieces about the book. I was upset about events that happened, but I still loved it. The book grabbed my heart and held onto it while making me feel all the emotions in the book. To me, that is an amazing book that deserves to be noticed like it is.
I can’t wait to read the final installment in the series. I really don’t know how I’m going to wait a year, but either way, I cannot wait.






Taste by Kate Evangelista Book Trailer reveal

Today I am really excited to be involved in the Taste by Kate Evangelista book trailer reveal. Kate is a fantastic and friendly blogger that has made her dream come true by getting her debut novel, Taste published. I was lucky enough to do a Taste cover reveal recently and was excited when Kate contacted me again for the trailer reveal. Not only will you find the trailer reveal in this post but also special excerpts, one hidden and one in this post.

I hope you all enjoy the fantastic trailer and excerpt! I'm really excited to read Taste when it is released in May, I hope you are too.

Taste Blurb:

At Barinkoff Academy, there's only one rule: no students on campus after curfew. Phoenix McKay soon finds out why when she is left behind at sunset. A group calling themselves night students threaten to taste her flesh until she is saved by a mysterious, alluring boy. With his pale skin, dark eyes, and mesmerizing voice, Demitri is both irresistible and impenetrable. He warns her to stay away from his dangerous world of flesh eaters. Unfortunately, the gorgeous and playful Luka has other plans.

When Phoenix is caught between her physical and her emotional attraction, she becomes the keeper of a deadly secret that will rock the foundations of an ancient civilization living beneath Barinkoff Academy. Phoenix doesn’t realize until it is too late that the closer she gets to both Demitri and Luka the more she is plunging them all into a centuries old feud.

Author Bio:

When Kate Evangelista was told she had a knack for writing stories, she did the next best thing: entered medical school. After realizing she wasn't going to be the next Doogie Howser, M.D., Kate wandered into the Literature department of her university and never looked back. Today, she is in possession of a piece of paper that says to the world she owns a Literature degree. To make matters worse, she took Master's courses in creative writing. In the end, she realized to be a writer, none of what she had mattered. What really mattered? Writing. Plain and simple, honest to God, sitting in front of her computer, writing. Today, she has four completed Young Adult novels.



Taste Trailer Reveal:



Song Credits: "Hunger" © Noelle Pico.

Full Download available at http://sheisnoelle.bandcamp.com



Taste Excerpt


I mentally stomped on the intimidation their perfection brought into my mind and said, “Excuse me.”
The group froze, startled by my words. The girls had their brows raised and the boys stopped mid-speech, mouths agape. They stared at me with eyes the shade of onyx stones.
I smiled and gave them a little wave.
The boy a step ahead of the rest recovered first. His stunning features went from shocked surprise to intense interest. He reminded me of a hawk eyeing its prey. I gulped.
“A Day Student,” he said, his eyes insolent and excited.
Something about the way he said “Day Student” made my stomach flip. “Excuse me?”
They snickered. The boys looked at each other while the girls continued to stare, muffling their laughter by delicate hands. I seemed to be the butt of some joke. 
“You broke the rule.” The boy’s grin turned predatory.
The students formed a loose semi-circle in front of me. My gaze darted from face to face. Hunger filled their eyes. The image of lions about to chase down a gazelle came to mind. I mentally shook my head. I was in the mountains not the Serengeti for crying out loud.
I took a small step back and cleared my throat. “Can any of you give me a ride back to the dorms?”
The boy wagged his forefinger like a metronome. “Ah, that’s unfortunate for you.”
One of the girls pinched the bridge of her nose. “Eli, you can’t possibly—”
“It’s forbidden, Eli,” another boy interrupted, pronouncing the word “forbidden” like a curse.
The nervous murmur at the pit of my stomach grew louder. Six against one. Not good odds. Instinct told me to cut my losses and run. Bad enough I faced expulsion, now it seemed like weird, beautiful people who’d suddenly appeared on campus wanted to beat me up. No, scratch that. Judging from the way they studied me, beating me up wouldn’t satisfy them. Something more primal prowled behind their looks.
I definitely wasn’t going down without a fight. Years of self-defense and hand-to-hand combat classes had me prepared. While other children from rich and important families got bodyguards, I got defense training. But I think my father meant for my skills to go up against potential kidnappers, not against other students who may or may not be crazy. Oh God! Maybe I stepped into a parallel universe or something when I reentered Barinkoff.
“None of the students are supposed to be on campus,” I said. Then, realizing my mistake, I added, “Okay, I know I’m not supposed to be here either. If one of you gives me a ride back to the dorms, I won’t say anything about all this. Let’s pretend this never happened. I didn’t see you, you didn’t see me.”
“We’re not ordinary students,” Eli answered. “We’re the Night Students.”
He’d said “Night Students” like the words were capitalized. I didn’t know Barinkoff held classes at night. What was going on here?
Eli smiled with just one side of his mouth and said to the group, “She’s right, no one will have to know. We’re the only ones here. And it’s been so long, don’t you agree?”
The rest of them nodded reluctantly.
“What’s been so long?” I challenged. I fisted my hands, ready to put them up if any of them so much as twitched my way.
“Since the taste of real flesh passed through my lips,” Eli said. He came forward and took a whiff of me then laughed when I cringed.
“Flesh.” Yep, parallel universe.
“Yes,” he said. “And yours smells so fresh.”
Someone grabbed my shoulders from behind and yanked me back before I could wrap my mind around the meaning behind Eli’s words. In a blink, I found myself behind someone tall. Someone really tall. And quite broad. And very male.
I realized he wore the same clothes Eli and the other boys did. Not good. He was one of them. Although… I cocked my head, raking my gaze over him. He seemed born to wear the uniform, like he was the pattern everyone else was cut from. My eyes wandered to long, layered, blue-black hair tied at the nape by a silk ribbon. Even in dim light, his hair possessed a sheen akin to mercury.
I looked down. The boy’s long fingers were wrapped around my wrist like a cuff. His fevered touch felt hotter than human standards, hot enough to make me sweat like I was standing beside a radiator but not hot enough to burn.
“I must be mistaken, Eli,” the boy who held my arm said in a monotone. “Correct me. Did I hear you say you wanted to taste the flesh of this girl?”
A hush descended on us. It had the hairs at the back of my neck rising. How was it possible for the atmosphere to switch from threatening to dangerous? Unable to help myself, I peeked around the new guy’s bulk. Eli and his friends bowed. They all had their right hands on their chests.
“Demitri, I’m sure you misheard me,” Eli said.
So the guy standing between me and the person who said he’d wanted to taste me was named Demitri. I like the sound of his name. Demitri. So strong, yet rolls off the tongue. Definite yum factor.
“So, you imply I made a mistake?” Demitri demanded.
“No!” Eli lifted his gaze. “I did no such thing. I simply wanted to show the girl the consequences of breaking curfew.”
“Hey!” I yelled. “Don’t talk about me like I’m not here!”
Demitri ignored my protest and continued to address Eli. “So, you threatened to taste her flesh.” His fingers tightened their grip around my wrist. “In the interest of investigating this matter further, I invoke the Silence.”
All six students gasped, passing surprised glances at one another.
Before I could ask about what was going on, Demitri yanked me down the hall toward the library. But why there? Oh, maybe we were getting my things. No, wait, he couldn’t have known about that. Everything was too confusing now.
Eli and the others didn’t try to stop us when we passed them. Demitri’s cold command must have carried power. Handsome and powerful, never a bad combination on a guy.
We reached the heavy double doors in seconds. He jerked one open effortlessly. I’d needed all my strength just to squeeze through that same door earlier. To him, the thick wood might as well have been cardboard. I raised an eyebrow and mentally listed the benefits of going to gym class.
“Why are we here?” I asked after my curiosity overpowered my worry. I’d almost forgotten how frightened I’d been right before Demitri showed up. I wasn’t above accepting help from strangers. Especially from gorgeous dark-haired strangers with hot hands and wide shoulders.
Demitri kept going, tugging me along, snaking his way deeper into the library. I had to take two steps for every stride his legs made. I tried to stay directly behind him, praying we didn’t slam into anything.
He stopped suddenly and I collided with him. It felt like slamming into a wall.
“Hey,” I said, momentarily stunned. “A little warning would be nice!”
He faced me, and I gasped. His eyes resembled a starless night, deep and endless. Their intensity drilled through me without pity, seeming to expose all my secrets. I felt naked and flustered beneath his gaze.
“You could have died back there,” he warned.
A lump of panic rebuilt itself in my throat.


Sunday, April 15, 2012

In My Mailbox (19)



Find out what is in my mailbox weekly, a feature hosted by The Story Siren. I will share what I get every week. If I haven't gotten anything new then I will share what I'm reading and What I will be reviewing in the near future.


Physical Books:




  • The Complete Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm Translated by Jack Zipes- Bought
  • Magyk by Angie Sage- Bought at Bull Moose
  • SWAG!- All of it sent to me from the wonderful Mickey from I'm A Book Shark other than the Slide post card, which I received from the author for helping spread the word.



E-Books:



  • Spectral by Shannon Duffy- Received from publish for review and blog tour.
  • Lies Beneath by Anne Brown- Net Galley
Other than the two books I bought this was all from before last week. I forgot to add spectral to another IMM and last week I was just too busy with College homework and studying to do my blog features! I'm sorry to my loyal bloggers and thank you for sticking with me.

The fantastic Mickey was super awesome and said she would send me the Help book marks and to my surprise (after having a bad day) I received them in the mail along with a whole bunch of Swag! It totally made my day :). I love bookmarks, I have been collecting them forever. I was really excited to get some autographed ones:) Thank you thank you thank you Mickey :) I also love her blog book mark eeep :) awesomeness. I will have to return this kindness when I can :) The author of Slide also sent me an autographed post card for being a  slider and help spread the word! Thank you that was very nice.

I finally bought a book of Grimm Fairy Tales because I have been obsessed with once Upon a Time. I find the darker Fairy Tales with a twist interesting and have never read them. I only know the Disney versions, which I know are much different. I hope I like this book, I read some good reviews on it so I think it should be good! I also found Magyk at Bull Moose for .50 cents :)

What did you get in your mailbox!?


Friday, April 13, 2012

TGIF (13)



TGIF at GReads- This Feature is for Fridays to re-cap the week's post & to answer a question from GReads.


Question: Musical Stories: If you could read a book about any song, which song would you love to see written down in story form?


I can kind of cheat on this question because there is  a song but one of my favorite artists that an author decided to write the story for it. The book is Remembrance by Michelle Madow based on the song and music video Love Story by Taylor Swift. I love the book and love the song! I think Michelle Madow did an awesome job turning the song into a longer story. I love Taylor Swift so if you take any of her songs and made it a book i would most likely read it.


What you may have missed on my blog this week:


Features:


Reviews:


Other Awesome Stuff:

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Masquerade Read Along: Chapters 8-16



Chapters 8-16 Discussion Questions
1. Sam is admittedly drawn to Heven before they even meet. Why do think this is?


He says she just seemed peaceful and happy. I guess sometimes you can just be drawn to someone and I'm sure the fact that she was pretty didn't hurt. I don't really have a great answer for this though.
2. In an earlier chapter The Hope states that Sam must prove himself. During these chapters Sam does some things – bad things – (covering up murder, fighting, hiding a body, etc.) all to protect Heven and his true identity. Do you think he was right to do these things?


I understand protecting Heven and trying to conceal his true identity but I don't think he should have covered up murder/ hid the body. He didn't kill her and it wasn't his fault so I'm not sure why he would be questioned if he just found her. The girls family and friends deserved to know what happened to her instead she was being reported as a run away. I don't think that is right but I can also see why he did it and him being afraid.
3. In chapter twelve Kimber says some thing’s to Heven that make the reader wonder about their friendship. Do you think there is any truth Kimber’s drunken confessions? If so where do you think Heven and Kimber’s friendship goes from here?


I agree with what Heven says about drinking just makes the truth come out. I'm not sure if Kimber is a real friend or not or if she was just frustrated and angry. She is a girl that loves the spotlight and didn't want it taken away.  I think her outburst was mean and selfish. I feel as Heven gets closer to Sam that her "friendship" with Kimber gets weaker.
4. Heven is changing, becoming more confident. Do you think that after something like this (her accident and disfigurement) happens to someone that she can ever go back to the person she was before? Do you think she will want to?


I think it depends on the person, I can see she is getting more confident but not as much as she could be. I think she would like to be the person she was before but I think once someone goes through something like that you can't really ever go back to how it was before.
5. Toward the end of these set of chapters, Heven finds out Sam’s secret, who he really is. She has a strong reaction. Do you think you would react the same way? Why or why not?


If I loved them the way she says she loves Sam then I think I would have handled it a little better and tried to listen instead of shutting him down. I probably would have freaked out also, I won't deny that. I wouldn't have tried to jump off of a balcony to get away from him though. I think he had already proved that he wasn't going to hurt her, if he wanted her dead she would have been dead already.

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (18)



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Ascend by Amanda Hocking
Expected Release Date: April 24, 2012


Amanda Hocking is an indie publishing sensation whose self-published novels have sold millions of copies all over the world.  Ascend is the final chapter in her bestselling Trylle trilogy—and you’ll never guess how it ends!


Wendy Everly is facing an impossible choice. The only way to save the Trylle from their deadliest enemy is by sacrificing herself.  If she doesn’t surrender to the Vittra, her people will be thrust into a brutal war against an unbeatable foe.  But how can Wendy leave all her friends behind…even if it’s the only way to save them?
The stakes have never been higher, because her kingdom isn’t the only thing she stands to lose. After falling for both Finn and Loki, she’s about to make the ultimate choice…who to love forever. One guy has finally proven to be the love of her life—and now all their lives might be coming to an end.
Everything has been leading to this moment.  The future of her entire world rests in her hands—if she’s ready to fight for it (Goodreads)



I haven't started this series yet but I jut got the first book recently and look forward to reading it.

Tuesday, April 10, 2012

Masquerade Read Along: Chapters 1-8



5 discussion questions:
1. If you were disfigured like Heven (by some sort of accident) do you think you would have reacted the same way as her? (loss of self confidence, hiding yourself, etc)
I think that depends on when it happened to me. I think I would have handled it differently than Heven either way but if I was still in High School I would have been more affected than if it happened now. High School is hard and people are mean so I probably would have tried to hide the disfiguration also but I would have stood up for myself. Heven just lets them taunt her and says nothing which is frustrating to me. I have been picked on before and I have always spoken up and stood up for myself, never letting anyone walk all over me. I know I would have less confidence if it happened in high school than now but I believe I would have handles it better than Heven. 
2. Do you think that Kimber’s plan for revenge against Cole (for kissing another girl) is a good idea?
No, I thought that was a terrible idea and figured it would back fire especially if she wanted to get him back. She is also blind to the fact that she is hurting her friend, but of course it doesn't help that Heven doesn't speak up.
3. In the beginning chapters, Heven is very drawn to Sam but won’t admit it due to her own insecurities. Kimber begins to “date” Sam… do you think that Heven should have spoken up? Do think Kimber should have seen Heven’s real feelings?
Heven seems to have no self esteem and doesn't believe she has any worth and is too afraid of losing her only real friend left to tell her how she feels. Heven should have told her best friend that she liked Sam and how she felt. If Kimber didn't understand then she isn't a real friend and isn't worth her time.
4. Masquerade is broken in four separate POV’s: Heven, Sam, The Hate and The Hope. Do you think having multiple POV’s adds depth to the story? Why or why not?
I like seeing different perspectives because I do think it adds to the story and helps you understand other characters. The Hate and The Hope confuse me at this point but I hope it all comes together more as the story continues.
5. A great source of strength for Heven is her grandmother. Who do you think yours is/would be?
I don't have a specific person that gives me strength. The things that I have been through in life have made me a stronger person. I'm a strong person in general and I feel that I have a lot of strength.  I think people can help and having friends and people to talk to is helpful to gain strength and build confidence which Heven needs to do.

Tell Me Something Tuesday (11)



Welcome to Cambria Hebert’s weekly meme Tell Me Something Tuesday where she asks you something and you tell her the answer!! It’s as simple as that!


Question: Who are your book boyfriends?



Adam from the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs


Charles from the Alpha Omega series by Patricia Briggs


Jace from the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare


Four from Divergent by Veronica Roth


Alex from Delirium by Lauren Oliver


Caleb from Significance by Shelly Crane


Jem from Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare


I'm sure I could make this list longer but the conclusion is: dang I have a lot of boyfriends :-P
I can't wait to get more time with these awesome guys! I will be sure to get more of Four on May 1st! I'm so excited!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...