Search My Blog

Friday, March 30, 2012

TGIF (12)



TGIF at GReads- This Feature is for Fridays to re-cap the week's post & to answer a question from GReads.


Question: Book Blogger Retreat: If you could gather up a handful of book blogger friends to spend a weekend away talking books, where would you go? Tell us about it.


This would be awesome! The closest I think I'm getting to this is BEA which I hope to attend in june. I'm so excited! I just wish my friend Michele from A Belle's Tales could go and also Shellie from Creative Reads and a few others that I would love to meet in real life.


I would love to have a  retreat at a beach, any beach would be a ton of fun so here in Maine in the summer, Hawaii or anything cool like that! I love laying in the sand and how awesome would it be to lay in the sand with book bloggers and read books and squeal about them!


What you may have missed on my blog this week (and some from last week):


Features:


Reviews:


Other Awesome Stuff:

Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday (17)



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.


Enchanted by Alethea KontisExpected Release Date: May 8th, 2012


It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.

When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical. One night Sunday kisses her frog goodbye and leaves, not realizing that her love has transformed him back into Rumbold, the crown prince of Arilland—and a man Sunday’s family despises.

The prince returns to his castle, intent on making Sunday fall in love with him as the man he is, not the frog he was. But Sunday is not so easy to woo. How can she feel such a strange, strong attraction for this prince she barely knows? And what twisted secrets lie hidden in his past - and hers? 
(Goodreads)

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Tell me Something Tuesday (10)



Welcome to Cambria Hebert’s weekly meme Tell Me Something Tuesday where she asks you something and you tell her the answer!! It’s as simple as that!


Who is your favorite sidekick in a book? (You know the BFF of the main character)






The Character that Instantly popped into my head when I read this question was Hermione Granger from Harry Potter. She is brilliant, quick, funny and just awesome. (I totally want her purse in the last book). What more do I really need to say? I mean what would Harry do without Hermione? I don't think things would have worked out quite the same in a lot of the situations they got themselves in.

Top Ten Tuesday (17)



Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.


Spring Fever: Top Ten Books I'd Play Hooky With

10 Books I want to read:
  1. Everlasting by Elizabeth Chandler
  2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  3. Red Heart Tattoo by Lurlene McDaniel
  4. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
  5. Accordance by Shelly Crane
  6. Stolen by Kelley Armstrong
  7. The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks
  8. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder
  9. The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima
  10. Deadly Little Lies by Laurie Stolarz
10 Books I have Read:
  1. Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
  2. City of Bones  by Cassandra Clare
  3. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare
  4. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  5. Remembrance by Michelle Madow
  6. Significance by Shelly Crane
  7. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  8. Delirium byLauren Oliver
  9. Kissed by an Angel by Elizabeth Chandler
  10. Rae of Hope by W. J. May


Monday, March 26, 2012

Under the Amoral Bridge by Gary A. Ballard Review


Under the Amoral Bridge by Gary A. Ballard
★★★☆☆

In a future world, Artemis Bridge was the guy to contact to get or accomplish almost anything. Bridge always knew a guy, but never touched anything himself, so he couldn’t be incriminated. He made a living by being the “bridge” between the buyer and seller. He was called Amoral because of his lack of morals by connecting these people.  On one of the job connections, his contact was killed and got him stuck with an incriminating video of the mayor. He can’t get rid of it, and people are after him to get it.  Now, he is in danger, along with the one person in the world that he loved.

This was my first Steam Punk novel, and I didn’t know what to expect. This was not my typical read at all. It was well written and descriptive. I could easily imagine the world. The author did well with giving a vivid image of who Bridge was and what he was like. He wasn’t really someone I would be friends with.

The story was fast paced and had a good amount of action. I honestly don’t think it was really my kind of story, so I wasn’t too into it. I did find some things interesting, especially the depiction of the world, and it makes me wonder if our world is headed that way at all, especially with the government.

It was a good read, and I may give the rest of the series a try in the future.

Buy now from Barnes and Noble or Amazon 


  

Sunday, March 25, 2012

In My Mailbox (17)



Find out what is in my mailbox weekly, a feature hosted by The Story Siren. I will share what I get every week. If I haven't gotten anything new then I will share what I'm reading and What I will be reviewing in the near future.





  • A Child Called "it" by Dave Pelzer-Bought
  • Don't Breathe A Word by Holly Cupala-Won
  • Linger by Maggie Stiefvater-Bought
Bought a couple books at Bull Moose This week :) 50 Cents each! I also found a photoshop cs4 book that is normally 50$ for 50 Cents! Score! Have I mentioned I love Bullmoose?

I won Don't Breathe A Word a while back and just got it in the mail! I'm very excited this book sounds really good!

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (16)



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross
Expected Release Date: April 10, 2012


Mirabelle's past is shrouded in secrecy, from her parents' tragic deaths to her guardians' half-truths about why she can't return to her birthplace, Beau Rivage. Desperate to see the town, Mira runs away a week before her sixteenth birthday—and discovers a world she never could have imagined.

In Beau Rivage, nothing is what it seems—the strangely pale girl with a morbid interest in apples, the obnoxious playboy who's a beast to everyone he meets, and the chivalrous guy who has a thing for damsels in distress. Here, fairy tales come to life, curses are awakened, and ancient stories are played out again and again.

But fairy tales aren't pretty things, and they don't always end in happily ever after. Mira has a role to play, a fairy tale destiny to embrace or resist. As she struggles to take control of her fate, Mira is drawn into the lives of two brothers with fairy tale curses of their own . . . brothers who share a dark secret. And she'll find that love, just like fairy tales, can have sharp edges and hidden thorns.

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Tell me Something Tuesday (9)



Welcome to Cambria Hebert’s weekly meme Tell Me Something Tuesday where she asks you something and you tell her the answer!! It’s as simple as that!


Question: Who is your favorite heroine in a book? (Okay you can name more than one)






Oh boy there are so many, but I will name a few. I'm sure almost everyone will be listing the first one which is Katniss from The Hunger Games. She is awesome especially with that bow and arrow :). 




One of my favorite strong female characters is Mercy Thompson from Moon called by Patricia Briggs (Mercy Thompson series). A Female volkswagen mechanic that instead of changing into a werewolf she turns into a coyote that runs with werewolves. She is strong and tends to get herself into trouble.






Tris from Divergent by Veronica Roth



Kaylin Neya from the Chronicles of Elantra by Michelle Sagara



Clary from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare






and the list goes on and on :).

Top Ten Tuesday (16)



Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.


Top Ten Books On My Spring To-Be-Read list (could be new releases or just books you hope to read this spring) 



  1. Insurgent by Veronica Roth
  2. Everlasting by Elizabeth Chandler
  3. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare
  4. A Beautiful Evil by Kelly Keaton
  5. Red Heart Tattoo by Lurlene McDaniel (comes out this summer but I have the Net Galley ARC that I plan to read ASAP)
  6. Hushed by Kelley York
  7. Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare
  8. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi
  9. If I stay by Gayle Forman
  10. Night Sky by Jolene B. Perry

Monday, March 19, 2012

Delirium by Lauren Oliver Review


Delirium by Lauren Oliver
★★★★★ 
Lena was counting down the days until she could get the cure for the “disease.” Love was considered a disease called Deliria, and the government eradicated it with a procedure they created.  Lena believed that Deliria was bad and couldn’t wait for her birthday so she would be safe, but, before she could get the cure, the unimaginable happened:  she fell in love, which changed everything.

I have the Deliria; I loved this book.  I can’t imagine a world without love. I’m a hopeless romantic, so that seems unthinkable. For a book about the nonexistence of love, it was a beautiful, heartbreaking love story.  The author’s words touched my heart and had me holding onto each word like a treasure wanting more.

I was easily pulled into the story. It was an especially connective read for me when I discovered it was set in Portland, Maine. I live in the Portland area, and I know it very well. I recognized most of the streets that were in the story and could picture the scene, which was pretty fascinating. I’ve never read a book where I’ve known the area that it was set in, especially a specific spot. I’m very curious about why the author chose Portland, Maine. I really enjoyed reading about a dystopian version of Portland.

Buy now from Barnes and Noble or Amazon







Sunday, March 18, 2012

In My Mailbox (16)

Find out what is in my mailbox weekly, a feature hosted by The Story Siren. I will share what I get every week. If I haven't gotten anything new then I will share what I'm reading and What I will be reviewing in the near future.


Physical Books:




  • Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead- Bought
  • Blameless by Gail Carriger-Bought
  • Changeless by Gail Carriger-Bought
  • Kissing Annabel by Steven Herrick-Bought



E-Books:
  • The Hunt by Andrew Fukuda- Net Galley
  • Bonds of Fenris by S. J. Bell- Received from author for review

I got more 50 cent books this week :) All of the ones I bought I got at Bull Moose for 50 cents each! SCORE. I got another author request this week with a pretty awesome cover. I really love it, I'm such a werewolf fan hehe. I also heard the hunt was supposed to be good from another blogger so I requested it from net Galley. Once I get caught up on some Author requests I really need to get caught up on my Net Galley requests! 


What did you get this week? Happy Reading!



Friday, March 16, 2012

TGIF (11)



TGIF at GReads- This Feature is for Fridays to re-cap the week's post & to answer a question from GReads.


Question:  Social Networking: Do you use Twitter or Facebook to promote your blog?  How has it benefited your book blogging experience? If not, how do you promote your blog? Share your twitter handle and/or Facebook link!


I use Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr and Goodreads among other social venues. It is nice to interact with people and other bloggers through these sites. I mostly interact through Twitter for conversational use but post updated through the others. Social networks are a good source to advertise and for posts to get noticed. I know I'm following so many blogs I can't catch all of the updates so seeing their updates on twitter and facebook and such helps a lot.


What you may have missed on my blog this week:


Features:

Reviews:
Other Awesome Stuff:

Thursday, March 15, 2012

Cover Reveal: Taste by Kate Evangelista

Today I am really excited to have the Cover Reveal for Taste by Kate Evangelista on my blog. I have been following Kate's blog since I began blogging and was really excited for her when she announced that her book was being published. Now it has a beautiful cover to go with it. I can't wait to read her book when it comes out and am very honored that she asked me to do a cover reveal on my blog. I hope you all will check out her book and stop by her blog and author site.

At Barinkoff Academy, there's only one rule: no students on campus after curfew. Phoenix McKay soon finds out why when she is left behind at sunset. A group calling themselves night students threaten to taste her flesh until she is saved by a mysterious, alluring boy. With his pale skin, dark eyes, and mesmerizing voice, Demitri is both irresistible and impenetrable. He warns her to stay away from his dangerous world of flesh eaters. Unfortunately, the gorgeous and playful Luka has other plans. 

When Phoenix is caught between her physical and her emotional attraction, she becomes the keeper of a deadly secret that will rock the foundations of an ancient civilization living beneath Barinkoff Academy. Phoenix doesn’t realize until it is too late that the closer she gets to both Demitri and Luka the more she is plunging them all into a centuries old feud. (goodreads)

Wednesday, March 14, 2012

Waiting On Wednesday (15)



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.



The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore
Expected Release Date: August 21, 2012

It all began with nine. Nine aliens who left their home planet of Lorien when it fell under attack by the evil Mogadorians—who scattered on Earth and went into hiding. They look like ordinary teenagers, but they have extraordinary skills. The Mogadorians killed Number One, Number Two, and Number Three. They tried to kill Number Four ... and failed.
Number Four (aka John Smith) has now teamed up with Number Nine, while Six has gone off to find the others. With the Mogadorians hot on their trail and time running out, they must find a way to come together, before it's too late. Power in numbers will save them all.

I still need to read The Power of Six but I loved I am Number Four and Can't wait to read the rest of the series.

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Divergent by Veronica Roth Review


Divergent by Veronica Roth
★★★★★

Beatrice never felt like she fit in her faction. She grew up as an Abnegation but was not completely selfless like the others.  She wasn’t sure she could live as an Abnegation for the rest of her life, now that she had turned 16 it was time for her to be tested for what faction she was destined for. Finding out she was Divergent complicated things a lot more.  Not only did she have more choices for which faction she could choose, she was in danger if anyone found out.

Veronica Roth created a new dystopian world in Divergent where people are in Factions. When they turn 16 they are tested to see what faction they belong in but a lot of the time they stay in the faction they grew up in. It is rare that someone is
Divergent, the term used for people that are compatible with multiple factions.

This book was absolutely amazing. I had Divergent on my to be read list since it came out but just read it. It was gifted to me from my friend Michele from A Belle’s Tales. One thought I had as I read it was, “Why did I wait so long!” I was completely sucked into this world.  The pages kept turning until I finished and screamed for more.

The author did a wonderful job with the plot and the characters. She created vivid images and created characters that will stick with me. She made me feel like I was in the world she created. There is no time to be bored while reading, between the action and the heart stopping moments. Tris’s  (Beatrice) courage throughout the story is remarkable and admirable.

This was a great dystopian read and I really look forward to reading Insurgent when it comes out.

Thank you Michele for sending me this book! I’m in love.

Buy now from Barnes and Noble or Amazon!



 


Interview and Giveaway with Amy Lignor




Welcome Amy Lignor, a fantastic author. I’m very happy to have her on my blog today. She has even agreed to give away an e-book copy of her book, which I will add more about after the interview. I came into contact with Amy when she asked me to read and review her book, Until Next Time which was a fantastic read. You can find the review by clicking here. I have since greatly enjoyed talking with Amy and am really excited to be doing an interview with her.

I hope everyone enjoys this interview and will check out Until Next Time if you haven’t already.

Christie: Welcome Amy! Thank you for joining me today for an interview.  Please tell us a little about yourself.

Amy: I was raised on books - literally :).  My Mom was a career librarian, so while all the kids were going to the movies or hanging out on the sports field, I was in the library surrounded by my absolute favorite things in the whole world! 

I’ve been writing since I was thirteen-years-old, and my Freshman Social Studies teacher was actually the first one to tell me that I should be a writer as a career, after I wrote an essay about Rasputin.

I come from the East, which is where I began in the publishing industry, and currently I live in the warm, dry air of New Mexico. I came here to study a book I was putting together on Billy the Kid, believe it or not, and stayed because I loved the fact that there was absolutely no snow. :)

Christie: It sounds like you had a great childhood. It is very awesome that the teacher encouraged you to become a writer. It would be cool if they saw your book and saw they were right! Amen to no snow!

Christie: Your New book Until Next Time, which is also the first book in the Angel Chronicles series is about angels. What made you decide to write about Angels?

Amy: Actually it all came about when I was thirteen. I lost my grandfather and I was truly heartbroken. I began to think about where he went and whether or not, if there were such a thing as angels, why they would possibly come down into a place that was so filled with pain, death, heartache, etc. I dreamed about Matt when I was going through this time period; not a ‘romantic’ dream, just a boy who showed me around a large library where we sat and talked a great deal. He wanted to be a part of this world and, I guess you could call this an ‘imaginary friend,’ helped me through one of the toughest times in my life. When my father passed away too early about ten years ago, Matt and the dreams returned, and I suddenly knew that it was time to tell his and Emily’s story.

Christie: That is very personal. I’m glad you found a way to deal with the grief that ended up creating a great story. Thank you for sharing the story with us, that must have been hard with it being so personal.

Christie: Did you base any of your characters off of real people?

Amy:  There are a few characters ‘up there’ that I based on my grandfather and my father - two extremely wise men who had the biggest hearts imaginable. Emily is based a great deal on how I felt at that time, and how to face the world while trying to still hold on to that ‘faith’ she has in her partner.

Christie: Matt and Emily were supposed to be soul mates but fate took them on a different course when they were sent down to earth.  This changes things between them, will they be pushed back together in the future?

Amy:  The true core of each book is Emily and Matt’s friendship, love, work and the decisions that have to be made between them. Although Emily is the one with a ‘human’ romance in Until Next Time, she is also the one who wants to be ‘home;’ whereas Matt actually likes to be free and living on Earth. There are twists and turns coming up for the angel/warrior team - and Emily and Matt have more than a few surprises when it comes to their friendship and love. So, the upside is, readers will not know the conclusion until the actual conclusion. LOL.

Christie: that sounds great! I can’t wait for these twists and turns.

Christie: Will Jason show up again in future books?

Amy: Yes, Jason will return, as will Charles and Faith - just not in the same ‘form’ as readers think.

Christie: that makes me very happy!

Christie: What made you start writing? Was there a specific author that inspired you to write yourself.

Amy: I have so many favorite authors it’s almost impossible to name them all. Each genre has its own ‘masters.’ Writing was a very personal thing at the beginning of my life, but I have fallen in love with many authors who’ve helped me along the way. From the classics of Austen and Poe to the modern stories, such as Rowling and Koontz, literature is one of the most amazing things - to me - that this world has to offer.

Christie: Do you have a favorite Angel?

Amy: In the book, Matt is my favorite. He is the warrior and thinks with his heart and his deep passion for life, freedom and the job he has to do. Emily has it a lot harder. As an angel, she doesn’t have one ‘job’ to do; she has to find a way to balance everything and it’s far more stressful on her. In the ‘personal’ world, I love Gabriel. He was written in a specific way that blends fun and humor with the fact that he could teach a warrior how to be the ‘best of the best.’ He’s like an older brother.

Christie: Is there anything you can tell us about the next book? Some awesome detail to hold me over until it comes out more specifically.

Amy: Let’s say that the next book has more of a focus on Matt this time around, and they will be living in a very ‘gilded’ time period that was based on wealth, greed, and a nation that was just about to grow into THE one that everyone wanted to come to in order to find their chance at a ‘golden’ life.

Christie: I look forward to finding out more about Matt!

Christie: What is your writing style? Do you have any advice for other writers?

Amy: My writing style is a combination of research (I love history and I want to make sure that locales, time periods, buildings, etc., are all correct); plus the ability to just let go with the imagination. I really can’t do an ‘outline’ before writing and then simply follow along. Twists and turns come up, characters change - so I never hold myself to one thing. Not to mention I get so ‘deeply embedded’ in the story that I  feel like I’m the narrator telling ‘their’ story, and I’m just along for the ride.

Advice…do NOT give up. I started my company, The Write Companion, a while back because I was tired of seeing writers give up because of a rejection letter. There will be many…and you have to be able to solidify your backbone, KNOW that you are right, and keep right on going. A rejection letter just brings you closer to the eventual acceptance.

Christie: I can’t do outlines either I totally agree with you. You just can’t always know where the story and characters will take you.

That is great advice and very admirable. The writing world is a tough one.

Christie: is there anything I didn’t think of to ask that you would like to tell us?

Amy: LOL.  I actually just want to thank the readers and the bloggers, as well as everyone who got so into the book thus far that they’ve made Team Jason and Team Matt buttons. J I am beyond proud of these characters, and it’s nice to see the ‘winged ones’ edging out the ‘fanged ones’ every once in a while. I hope everyone gets on board with Emily & Matt and follows them even further to see exactly how they turn out!

Christie: Thank you again Amy for joining me for this interview. I hope to have you on my blog again in the future. I had a fantastic time talking with you.

Amy: Anytime!  Thank you for having me!

About Amy: Amy Lignor began her career at Grey House Publishing in northwest Connecticut where she was the Editor-in-Chief of numerous educational and business directories.

Now she is a published author of several works of fiction. The Billy the Kid historical The Heart of a Legend; the thriller, Mind Made; and the adventure novel, Tallent & Lowery 13.

She is also the owner of The Write Companion, a company that offers help and support to writers through a full range of editorial services from proofreading and copyediting to ghostwriting and research. As the daughter of a research librarian, she is also an active book reviewer.

Currently, she lives with her daughter, mother and a rambunctious German Shepherd named Reuben, in the beautiful state of New Mexico. (From Amy's blog)


 

GIVEAWAY:

One person can win a copy of Until Next Time by Amy Lignor. Open Internationally and you must be a follower of my blog to win. To enter, fill out the rafflecopter form below. The winner will be notified by email and will have 48 hours to respond or another winner will be chosen.




You can also buy a copy of Until Next Time and support the author now from Barnes and Noble and Amazon.



 

Tell Me Something Tuesday (8)

Welcome to Cambria Hebert’s weekly meme Tell Me Something Tuesday where she asks you something and you tell her the answer!! It’s as simple as that!



Question: Have you ever participated in a Book club, buddy read or Read along?





I have not participated in any of those yet but am planning to do a buddy read with Michele from A Belle's Tales for Clockwork Prince and I'm also going to be doing a read along for Masquerade by Cambria Hebert. I'm excited to do both of these and see how it goes!

Top Ten Tuesday (15)

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created  at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they will post a new Top Ten list  that one of their bloggers at The Broke and the Bookish will answer.


 Top Fantasy Books (Dystopia included under Fantasy)



  1. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  2. Divergent by Veronica Roth
  3. Delirium by Lauren Oliver
  4. Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
  5. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  6. Significance by Shelly Crane
  7. Rae of Hope by W. J. May
  8. Bitten by Kelley Armstrong
  9. I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore
  10. Cast in Shadow by Michelle Sagara

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...