Search My Blog

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Remembrance by Michelle Madow Review


Remembrance by Michelle Madow
★★★★

Lizzie’s life changed as she knew it the moment she saw the new student Drew on the first day of school. She felt a connection with him like she knew him from somewhere but she couldn’t have. Lizzie’s best friend Chelsea took an interest in him and Lizzie was bothered by this. She couldn’t express her feelings because she didn’t understand them herself, not to mention she had a longtime boyfriend, Jeremy. Lizzie and Drew couldn’t fight fate for long before Lizzie had begun seeing flashes from their past lives. She realized they were connected deeper than she could have ever imagined; reincarnation.

This book had me completely entranced. I couldn’t stop turning the pages. Michelle Madow’s words flowed beautifully making it so I couldn’t put it down. It kept my interest from the very beginning and I love it when author’s can do that. There are some great books I have read but it takes at least one hundred pages before the book gets interesting and in that time I can get distracted. When the author completely has me from the very 
beginning I absolutely love that!

I also thought it was really cool that the book was inspired by Taylor Swift’s music video, Love Story. The author saw this video and created the story behind it. That is just awesome. I think if Taylor Swift was to read this book she would be honored. Taylor Swift created a magical music video and Michelle Madow expanded that magic into a whole story.

Sunday, November 27, 2011

The Next Door Boys by Jolene B. Perry Review


The Next Door Boys by Jolene B. Perry
★★★★★

Thank you New Galley and Cedar Fort for giving me the opportunity to read this book.

Leigh was ready to break away from her family and have some independence. She discovered that it wasn’t as easy as she hoped. Her body was still recovering from having cancer. She was still weak and was having a hard time sleeping and when she got too exhausted she would sometimes pass out. Her family struggled with giving her space because they worried about her. She moved in next door to her brother and went to college with him. She wanted to begin her new life and focus on school. She wasn’t looking for love or anyone to fall in love with her.

I was apprehensive when I began reading this book because I didn’t realize that religion would be so prominent.  I’m glad I kept reading thought because the book was really good. The religion aspect was not overbearing. I was able to enjoy the book because there was a lot more to it than religion.  The characters really stick with you. I found myself thinking about them and the book after I finished reading it. I wanted to see more of their story and was happy to find out there will be a second book, (Left to Love). I really ended up loving this book.

I’m intrigued by stories about teens dealing with life altering situation. I have found it interesting to read about since I read my first Lurlene McDaniel book, (Six Months to Live). That is why I was interested in this book in the first place. It sounded similar to something Lurlene McDaniel would write so I thought I would like it and I was right.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Saving June by Hannah Harrington Review


Saving June by Hannah Harrington
★★★★

I would like to say thank you to Net Galley and Harlequin for giving me the opportunity to read this book.

Harper’s sister June committed suicide shocking everyone. No one had seen the signs or understood why she did it. Harper went into June’s room with her best friend Laney and found a postcard of California. June had wanted to go to California and go to College there but her mom dissuaded her from going saying she should take the free ride at the state college. Harper decided she wanted to go on a road trip to California for June and spread her ashes there. Laney was unsure of how they would pull it off but says she would go with her.  Harper discovered new things about her sister before she left leading her to Jake. He was a friend of her sister’s that didn’t fit her normal lifestyle. Jake demanded that he will go with them to California and he has a van to contribute giving Harper and Laney what they need to get there. Without a word of their plan shared with their parents they went on their road trip together.

Hannah Harrignton’s words are beautiful. She created a story that tugs at the reader’s heart. This book made me laugh and made me sad along the way. The characters felt like real people, as if I were in their story as it unfolds. I felt the tension between characters and them struggling with their emotions. The author really made the reader able to connect with the story. I would be interested in reading other books she comes out with in the future.

Another noteworthy thing in this book is the extensive amount of music that surrounds the story. She even had soundtracks listed in the end. I thought that was a really nice touch.

Monday, November 21, 2011

Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder Review


Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder
Release Date: December 20, 2011
★★★☆


I’ll begin by saying thank you to Net Galley and Harlequin for approving this advanced reader copy for me to read and review. I’m very appreciative.


A plague ravaged the land. People blamed their misery on the healers, and made them the enemy.  Avery was a healer and every healer had a bounty on their head. Everyone hated them and that is why Avry has been hiding that she is a healer, not staying in one place for very long. She has been on the run for Three years before she gets caught. She couldn’t ignore the dying child anymore. She made a choice even though she knew it would draw attention to her. Avry healed the child and took on those ailments weakening her so that she cannot flee afterward. The next day the town came for her and she attempts to escape but gets trapped. She is not sorry for saving the child, feeling the child’s life was worth her dying. She is saved from being executed. Her savior is a man she doesn’t know named Kerrick. He and his men help her escape but she must heal his friend. She is skeptical but decides it is better than dying. What she didn’t expect to find out is that she is the last healer alive.


I have not read anything else by Maria Snyder yet, but I have had Poison Study on my shelf for a while to read. I do plan to read that in the near future. I have heard great things about the author and also great things about Touch of Power and I was not disappointed. 


I enjoyed getting to know these characters and learning their voices; especially Avry's sarcasm. She made me laugh and I could relate to her in some ways. Avry and Kerrick were fun to read about as Avry unknowingly chipped at Kerrick’s tough exterior. I had an idea of what would happen in the end but it did turn out a little differently than I expected. The end also screamed for a next book along with being labeled number one. I look forward to see what the journey holds for this new series. I see several books in the future.  

Sunday, November 20, 2011

What I'm reading Next

What I'm Reading Next

Hello All!
I thought I would show the upcoming books that I will be reading and reviewing!
I just Finished Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder (Net Galley) but I cannot post my review quite yet because or ARC rules but it's something to look forward to.

I have two more Arcs to read before I get to read Remembrance by Michelle Madow. I'm really excited to read this book!

I'm now starting Saving June by Hannah Harrington and that will be follows by The Next Door Boys by Jolene B. Perry. (Net Galley) I'm looking forward to reading these books and sharing them with all of you.

 

Which book(s) are you excited about!?

Friday, November 18, 2011

Deadly Little Secrets by laurie Stolarz Review


Deadly Little Secrets by Laurie Faria Stolarz
★★★


I would like to begin by saying thank you to Net Galley for giving me the opportunity to read this book. I had seen it in stores and thought it sounded interesting but had not bought it. I joined Net Galley and saw that they had it available to read in honor of the upcoming fourth book coming out so I requested it.

Camelia’s life is normal. Then she almost gets killed by a car; a boy saves her and then runs away without telling her his name. She is left to wonder about him and wanting to thank him but doesn’t know who he is. When school starts he shows up at school and the entire school is talking about him. He is rumored to have killed his girlfriend. Camelia approaches him knowing he is the one that saved her but he denies the entire thing. Camelia gets a photograph of herself in an envelope without a postage stamp or return address on it. Only her name was on the envelope. The photo was taken that day and had a red heart around it. The whole thing seems like a joke until things escalate leaving her not knowing who to trust.

I really enjoyed this book. I found it very intriguing and had to keep turning the pages to find out what would happen next. The author definitely brought in some twists that I did not expect. The author did very well at keeping the mystery going until the very end. In the beginning I was like “ok I know what is going on and who this other person’s perspective is that occasionally comes up.” Then I found that I had it all wrong and then I had no clue. I haven’t read mysteries much so it could be the lack of experience with them for me but I thought the author did great with this novel. I thought the story flowed well and it kept me thinking. I felt as confused as Camelia most of the time, which for a mystery that is a good thing. After reading this book I plan to read the others in the series and maybe even other books by the author. 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

The Nine Lives of Chloe king by Liz Braswell Review


The Nine Lives of Chloe King by Liz Braswell
★★☆☆

Chloe is a normal girl until she turns 16 and dies falling off of a tower. When she wakes up alive after dying; she is freaked out. No one could survive that fall but there she is, alive. Then she discovers her strength and new speed. She is able to run long distances without getting winded. This was a big difference to the girl who avoided gym class.  Then there were the claws… Chloe discovers there are more people like her around the same time as she discovers she is in danger. Chloe’s entire life is about to change as she knows it.



The Nine Lives of Chloe king consists of three books; the Fallen, the Stolen, and the Chosen. Each book seemed slow until close to the end. The end is where the most action happened and gained the most of my attention. Once my attention was fully drawn in the book was over. I just wanted more throughout the entire book. I did find myself enjoying the last book (Chosen) a lot more than the others. The content seemed to be more satisfying and had more substance. The last book came together really well and wrapped up the series nicely. The books were interesting because of what the story was about. Mai are like cat people with scary claws, inhuman like reflexes.

Sunday, November 13, 2011

The Gates Review


The Gates By John Connolly

★★★☆


The Gates by John Connolly was a great book. I got this book after meeting John Connolly at Borders. When he walked into the store I had no idea who he was, I just thought he was another customer. The next thing I knew he was at the customer service desk signing the entire stack of his books. I ended up talking to him. He was so down to earth and easy to talk to and very funny! After meeting him I decided I would read one of his books and ended up picking this one. It took me a while to finally get to reading it. I found out he is having a reading Tuesday 11/15/11 at the University of Southern Maine so I finally sat down and read it. I have to say meeting an author and having them be really nice and down to earth like Josh Connolly was when I met him can make someone want to pick up their books. I probably would never have picked this book up if it wasn’t for that, but I’m glad I did because I was not disappointed.


I wasn’t sure what to expect from this book but I was surprised by any standards. The author added a nice touch by adding footnotes throughout the book giving the reader further information and most of the time resulting in making me laugh. The author has a way with words that brought a smile to my face and just made me laugh out loud. This was a very fun book to read. He created a great voice in the story. The reader is also able to see multiple different points of views in the story so you get to see closer glimpses to different characters. I enjoyed this, it even had me feeling for the demon Nurd.

The story follows a very intelligent boy named Samuel Johnson and his dog. Samuel is a unique boy and decided to start Halloween early. He starts and ends his attempt to do so at the Abernathy’s house. After Mr. Abernathy shuts the door in Samuels face he goes back to his wife and friends and accidently opens a portal that a strong demon comes out and takes over Mrs. Abernathy’s body and more demons come and take over the bodies of Mr. Abernathy and his friends. Samuel sees this though a window and when he decided to run away Mrs. Abernathy sees him. Now she is after Samuel and no one will believe him when he tries to tell what he saw. It is up to Samuel to stop hell on earth from happening because he is the only one that knows.

Friday, November 11, 2011

Vamps by Nancy Collins Review


Vamps by Nancy A. Collins ☆☆☆☆

I decided to read this book because I was working at Borders at the time and she was on a book tour and came to our store. I was excited to meet the authors coming, along with Nancy Collins were Claudia Gray (Evernight) and Ellen Schreiber (Vampire Kisses).  I had recently read Twilight and was in the Vampire craze along with most of the population. This story was a comparison to Gossip girl except with vampires. I found myself rolling my eyes as I read.  I was not impressed with this book. This author was doing what many began doing, writing books about vampires because of the new craze. I feel that she did not do this very successfully. After meeting the author I was even less impressed. The author was very rude and not at all grateful for the fans that were there. The other two authors were enthusiastic to talk with their fans and very kind and respectful. Their fans are what got them there. I had a very nice conversation with Claudia Gray. The author’s attitude killed any chance of me picking up future books of hers. If I meet an author and they are not nice I’m really unlikely to read their books.  The author’s attitude and the lack of originality of her book made it not worth reading. 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone review

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J. K. Rowling 



It has been years since the first time I read Harry Potter! I didn't remember the books very well therefore I was able to enjoy the movies without getting as annoyed. I decided I must read them again and just finished year 1. Of course it was awesome! I always highly recommend Harry Potter. This is the series that got me reading. It was all over after that :-p Harry Potter is a fun adventure for all ages. You just can't help but fall in love. It's a wonderful world filled with magic and once in a lifetime friendships. This is a great read especially for apprehensive readers.

Thursday, November 10, 2011

I am number four Review

I am number four by Pittacus Lore 


This book is great. I don't normally read about Aliens but this book is so good. I read it super fast because I didn't want to put it down. This gives you the picture of Aliens walking among us and looking just like us but with powers. The Aliens are all numbered when they come here and they cannot be killed out of order. the first 3 are dead and he is number 4 so they are coming for him so he must run. This book has action and even a little romance but not enough to make it so guys don't like it ;) guys and girls can enjoy this book just the same! My Fiance who never reads read it in a day! I was impressed! I can't wait to read the Power of Six! :) I highly recommend this book!

Cast in Shadow Review





Cast In Shadow by Michelle Sagara is the first book in an intriguing series. I have never read anything like this before. The world she brings you into is very different. When I first began this series I really had to think to read it because it was a completely new world. With a new world I had to learn a lot. Now I know the world and it is easier to sit back and read without as much thought.  Don’t be discouraged though. Cast in Shadow is a really good book and so is the series.

Kaylin is a strong female character. She ran away from her past years ago and devoted her life to work for the law in Elantra. Now she is being confronted with her past and all the questions that come with it. One of those questions is about the marks that cover her body that have been there since she could remember.

This is a wonderful world holding plenty of action and adventure and even some mystery. If you are looking for an interesting read this is a good book and series to invest yourself in.

Darkness Becomes Her Review


Darkness Becomes Her by Kelly Keaton 

I read the description of this book on the cover and thought it sounded interesting after someone recommended it to me.  I was very surprised when this story took me for an adventure that I did not expect at all. It caught me off guard in a good way.  I really can’t wait to find out what happens next in Keaton’s next installment.

When Ari searches for her past it brings her to New Orleans. This is another thing that surprised me and that I liked a lot. This New Orleans is very different then the reader would expect before reading this novel. I really like that Keaton took a different Spin on New Orleans and what happened post hurricane Katrina. Keaton brings you into a new exciting world. I enjoyed this world a lot and would recommend it to other readers.

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Moon Called by Patricia Briggs Review




Moon Called by Patricia Briggs is the compelling first novel to the Mercy Thompson series. This is one of my favorite series. Mercy Thompson is the main character and she tends to find herself getting into trouble. She is  strong female character that can turn into a coyote at will. Never knowing anyone like her she runs with werewolves. If you like science fiction Fantasy read this book. Werewolves, Vampires and Fae can all be found in this thrilling series. On another note don't judge the book by its cover. Yes it looks like a trashy romance novel but it is not. Yes it has some romance and relationships but it is much more then that. If you read this series you will not be disappointed. 

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...